Raspberry and Almond Shortbread Thumbprints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
LOVED IT! I'm usually in charge of making cookies every Christmas, and I decided to try these out this year. They are perfect! I used vanilla extract instead of anise, since I couldn't find any. My boyfriend loved them as well. Even my roommate had to comment on how good they smelled since he couldn't eat any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brockville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Very tasty and delicious! I thought the first batch was a little sweet so I took a little sugar off the top when making the second dough batch. Would highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
One of our favorite cookies! I always make them around Christmas as a special treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
these were amazing mine did not look as pretty though but going to make another batch to try again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Um, it's insane how delicious these cookies are! I used blackberry jam this time and am excited to try other jam flavors. I was nervous at first because many people reported their cookies going flat and winding up with a messy jam situation the first try and I was out of parchment paper! Fortunately, followed a lot of the great advice from other reviewers and had no problem. I made the indentations using a chapstick cap and piped the jam in using a baggie snipped at the corner. Then chilled the cookies for 10-15 min in the fridge before putting them in the oven. For some reason I was hesitant to use the icing, I thought it would be over kill or something, and only iced half of the cookies. But I will not make that mistake again! The icing is a fantastic addition! The only thing I would do differently in the future is roll the dough balls a little bit smaller for a better jam:cookie ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
You CAN use vanilla extract in this recipe, I don't know why others had trouble with that unless they used imitation vs real. I did use an extra bit of flour (1/4c) as previously mentioned just in case,and they came out just fine. If your cookie dough gets cracks in the sides as you form the depression in the center, its a bit too cold, use your fingers to seal those cracks or your jam will seep out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewel Simpson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Delicious but spread out. Wish I had read the reviews before cooking. Next time will take others advise and use 1/4 c. more flour, smaller cookie scoop and chill dough before cooking. Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
At the last minute my daughter needed cookies for a class project. I was out of almond extract (used vanilla) and the powdered sugar and they turned out pretty good. I followed MarcieJ's (dec '06 review) and added an extra 1/4 cup of flour, chilled for at least 10 minutes and they turned out nice & fat. I had a tray of dough in the fridge (for 20 mins) as I ran out of room in the freezer and they turned out a bit flat and the jam didn't contain as well. ;0( My 9 y/o son who helped with the rolling and indenting (used the cap of the extract) now wants these for his class holiday party. Going back to the store for more supplies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I really enjoyed these cookies, made them with raspberry and apricot. Next time I won't do the drizzle, it was just a little too sweet with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pam
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Very good. Sweet enough without icing on top. But just my preference. Kids loved them. I used crabapple jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,525) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States