Raspberry and Almond Shortbread Thumbprints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
These are amazing cookies, always so incredibly tasty. These are definitely ones that get a lot of rotation. They are great to take to an event too because they look impressive and more taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
I made these last week and they are the BEST!! I had tried another recipe 2 weeks prior and it was bland (less sugar, unsalted butter, pinch of salt and only almond extract). I shared these with family and friends and got a lot of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
These were good but difficult to make. Especially the glaze. Mine clumped out but I did not have a way to pipe so used a Baggie. The glaze got hard too fast would thin it out more next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shoreview, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LouLou
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
Love this! Followed recipe to a tee. Well. . . I omitted the almond as I hate the taste but added fresh ground nutmeg. These came out perfect! I followed some reviews too. I froze the cookies filled with jam for ten mins before cooking and also used a Chapstick to make the indents. Genius!! I also chilled my dough before rolling into balls as I have very hot hands. Did not soften the butter first, just creamed with the sugar using an electric mixer. Threw all the flour in and mixed by hand with a wooden spoon in a plastic bowl. My cookies look beautiful. I also just put the jam straight from the jar (seeded raspberry) into a small Baggie and snipped the corner for piping. Perfect. Would recommend turning the oven down by 10 degrees too. But I'm in Niagara Falls and we had freezing rain tonight. Happy baking!!! These cookies are awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
tasty even without the glaze drizzle, which i think makes them too sweet. would have given 5 stars if not for the slightly dry texture. i can't seem to press the thumprint without cracking them. but these are my son's favorite :) we make them all the time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gojengo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
We loved these cookies! I made the recipe exactly as-written, and they turned out absolutely delicious! I did add just a little touch extra milk to the glaze, because it made it a little easier for me to "drizzle" it. A note I will offer to other cookie bakers: When it says soften the butter...you must ONLY soften the butter. Take a lot of care not to melt the butter. The best scenario would be to have had two cubes of butter sitting out on the counter at room temperature and ready to go. Being that isn't very likely, using a microwave you need to take care not to melt the butter. If you melt it, the cookies will be flat, as some others have said. I put my cubes in the microwave on 20% power for 1 minute. After it stopped, I opened the microwave, removed the butter checked it for softness, and determined more time was necessary. I put it in at 30% power for 45 seconds. That got it pretty close...but to get it just a touch closer, it put it back in at 20% power for 35 seconds. Perfection. ;) My cookies turned out awesome! ENJOY~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I am very disappointed considering all the positive reviews! I followed the recipe exactly as said, and twice did the cookies not work out. First of all, they did not hold their shape. Second, when I took them out of he oven to cool, they became rock hard. I don't know what went wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry Lynn Dickson
Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
This has become a family favorite. However, I did find the cookies to be done in 6 to 8 minutes, not the 14 to 18 stated in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Made these for Christmas...they were a huge hit. Going go make them for Valentine's Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,511) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States