Raspberry and Almond Shortbread Thumbprints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
After reading other reviews, I added an extra 1/4 cup of flour (but needed a tiny bit of milk for moistness), I rolled the balls small and used a chapstick to make the indentation. I then put them outside (it's winter in the Yukon...no need to use the freezer to chill!) for 10-15 mins and baked for 15 mins, turning pan around about 1/2 way through. They were so pretty and turned out perfect. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
What many people fail to realize when baking is that different flours have different absorbtion rates. It is better to put in a little less than check the consistency. If it is too wet than add more flour until it all holds together but is not dry. Refrigerating any butter based cookie dough usually makes it less sticky and easier to roll into balls. Also, chilling before baking helps them not flatten so much. This is an exellent recipe. I used melted white chocolate instead of the frosting for the tops. I don't like almond flavor so I used vanilla and I always use brown sugar instead of white when I can, I just like the flavor better. I have been baking for 50 years and I do know cookie doughs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
great recipe. cookies came out as expected. would make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
fell apart so i molded with my hands into ball, flattened ball with bottom of cup, fixed the sides that cracked, used small measuring spoon for a perfect "thumbprint". liked without frosting. frosting too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Cardenas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lyndhurst, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
The taste was delicious! Not overly sweet, but very buttery. Followed others suggestions and made the cookies, then put them in the freezer for 10 minutes prior to baking. The "icing" measurements were incorrect. I used 1.5 Tbsp milk to make it workable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Great Cookie. Easy make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bbeck500
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Instead of butter I used Margarin (I can't believe its not butter worked great). During the mixing of the butter and sugar I placed the mixture in the microwave for 30 secs to soften the Margarin further. I used a whisk to beat it till smooth. I then added the flour 'slowly' while whisking it in until the the last 1/2 cup I had to use a wooden spoon. Dough came out great and even the cookies came out fantastic with 2" dough balls (though I keep with 1 and 1/2 inch balls to make a better yield). Instead of a chap-stick cap I used a cap from a hairspray bottle (almost the same size as a chap-stick cap then measured in 1/2 teaspoon of Raspberry jam. I doubled the recipe and it yielded approximately 28 tasty cookies. Deeeeeeeeeelicious !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I am baking my cookies as I write my review. The dough was nice to work with. I didn't have any problem with crumbling. I didn't soften the butter too much before starting. I didn't feel the need to change the recipe by adding more flour or changing the oven temp. Really glad I didn't. The shortbread is BEAUTIFUL on the tongue! So flaky and buttery. I used the almond extract lid to make a dent in the tsp. sized balls of dough. I baked for 14 minutes and then put the jam in immediately after baking with a baby spoon. EASY PEEZY! I used Smuckers raspberry, but any flavor you like best would be great! I highly recommend making the recipe as is. On my next batch I'm putting them jam in while baking to see if it's just as easy. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by extracheeseplease

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
These are absolutely fabulous! Made them exactly as written, except refrigerated each batch about 15 minutes before baking. Used raspberry, blueberry and apricot jams. Next batch, going to add Nutella. Yum! If you are making these for someone else, plan on baking an extra batch for yourself- they're that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Felicia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,437) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States