Raspberry and Almond Shortbread Thumbprints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Simply amazing! I did make some adjustments right away - 1/2 cup instead of 2/3 cup of sugar, smaller dough balls, used the end of a wooden spoon to make the indents (perfect!) and I chilled the cookies for 20 minutes prior to baking, (zero flattening, looked just like in the photo!). The only thing I would do differently next time is to add more jam to the indents part way through baking as the jam does sink. No big deal though, I just ended up topping up the indents after they were done baking. I think if I hadn't made adjustments I'd be giving the recipe 4 stars. The cookies would be too sweet and definitely would have flattened out and not looked nearly as "professional".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessicaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
This recipe was fantastic they tasted amazing. A little tip make sure there are no cracks in the cookie because the jam spilled out of the cracks while it was baking but some of them were ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
WOW. Made with homemade strawberry jam and no glaze, but these are SERIOUSLY delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
AMAZING!!!First time I have ever made these. I followed instructions and took some advice AND put them in the freezer for about 15 mins, leading me to have to cook just a tad longer. bUT I AM VERY IMPRESSED! AND THEY TASTE GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
First thing I ever tried off of AR! Don't give it a second thought - just MAKE THESE COOKIES! I heeded the advice of Marcie J. in the comments, and even thought I substituted blackberry preserves for the raspberry jam, everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Very, very good! I love that they only have 4 ingredients for the dough. I made them with apricot preserves and they were delicious. Needed to make more of the glaze, so I would increase those ingredients to 1.5X. I also had to add more milk to make it the consistency I wanted. They look so pretty and taste so buttery. Great cookie to make as a gift!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debby Manor Hunter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I use homemade apricot or plum or blackberry jam (whatever I'm using from storage) .Yum yum! Always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
these cookies came out fabulous. prepared exactly as stated except I used a small ice cream scoop, put the cookie sheet with raw dough into freezer as oven was preheating. do not make too deep an impression for jam. now I have to go exercise because they are so rich and wonderful. enjoy! (make these cookies!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
So good! I would definitely recommend this to anyone with a sweet tooth. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
A word of advice about cookies like these - do not substitute margarine for the butter; that will make them flatten out. I made the dough as written and then tossed it in the frig for a couple of hours. The dough got a little hard and I had to handle it a bit to get it softer - perhaps just an hour in the frig would have been better! I used the handle of one of my kitchen knives to make the hole in the middle. None of my cookies were flat and none leaked. Make sure the cookie sheet is cooled before putting your second batch on it or you may see some flattening! I did have to use more than 1 tsp of milk for the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Tolland, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,437) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States