Raspberry and Almond Shortbread Thumbprints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
These are absolutely fabulous! Made them exactly as written, except refrigerated each batch about 15 minutes before baking. Used raspberry, blueberry and apricot jams. Next batch, going to add Nutella. Yum! If you are making these for someone else, plan on baking an extra batch for yourself- they're that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Felicia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This is a decent recipe. I also had some spreading of jelly but my oven is terrible (in a rental). I cooked them at a lower temp and just remembered to take them out BEFORE browning. This recipe doesn't have eggs so there is no worry about getting sick if they are a bit under done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
They are perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Made these as part of my Christmas mix. They are almost gone. My BF loves them. I will have to make more so they can go on the tray and also some for him. These are to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Delightful! So easy and great flavor. I made them with my niece for Thanksgiving. They were a huge hit. My son begged me to make more because they were the first to go. I'm adding them to my list of Christmas cookies this year. The almond extract gives them a very distinct almond/buttery flavor. If you like almond you'll love these cookies. Great with coffee. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
i've made this cookie a few times over the years using regular raspberry jam and raspberry filling specifically for baking. the one for baking made a huge difference and didn't bubble over at all. i added one egg yolk this year, and the cookie didn't spread as much as in previous years. i also molded the cookies first and then refrigerated the dough before filling and baking. i like it best with vanilla extract for the icing, almond for the cookie. i put the icing in a zip lock baggie and cut a tiny hole in the corner to drizzle on the cookies. these cookies are a HUGE hit at the dessert table!! don't be intimidated by the multi-step process if you're an amateur baker. they really aren't difficult, at all. enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
These were Fabulous !!! I took the advice of others and put them in the fridge for about 15-20min before baking. Popped them in the oven and they turned out just like the picture. We included them on our Christmas plates for friends/family and they were everyones favorite :) Thanks for sharing the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Brown-Bergmann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
These were lovely! I used 1/4 cup of almond flour in addition to the 2 cups of flour and they came out fine. I also used blueberry preserves and added a little bit after they were baked because I was afraid to put in too much to begin with. Ive made these before (another recipe) and I always overfilled them and made a huge mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eireann_nm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Absolutely wonderful! I am always looking for new cookies to add to my Christmas collection. I'm sure these will be requested for years to come. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Don't soften the butter. Chill the filled cookies before baking. Use a chapstick cap to make indentations for jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,468) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States