Raspberry Almond Coffeecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2015
This was ok, but nothing spectacular. I did have to bake it in an 8 inch square pan as my round ones are larger. Also, I did not have sliced almonds so chopped some whole ones which certainly may affect the topping texture, but not the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kasson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2015
I've been making this cake for over 15 years and it turns out great every time! I usually double it and put it in a square pyrex dish. It is so easy and I love how I don't have to use an electric mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
Amazingly good. I did make a few changes, however, as other reviewers suggested. I doubled the recipe and baked it in a 9-inch springform pan. I used 1 1/2 tsp. of vanilla extract and 1/2 tsp. of almond extract in the cake. I also used half cake flour and half AP, and sifted all of the dry ingredients together. I added about 1/4 cup of milk to thin the batter. It was still a bit thick, so I used my fingertips to spread it in the pan and over the berries, which worked well. I added enough almonds to cover the top, more than called for. For a glaze, I boiled the raspberry juice/brown sugar mixture (leftover after I added the berries to the cake) until the sugar dissolved. After it cooled, I added about 1/4 cup of powdered sugar, 1 tsp. of milk, a few drops of almond extract, and a pinch of kosher salt. I drizzled it over the top of the coffee cake with a small spoon. It was a pretty red color and the salt cut the sweetness. Even though I doubled the cake batter and filling, I halved the glaze, I hate sickly sweet anything, and the original glaze sounded sickly sweet to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RPCOOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Greenbelt, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
Crazy good and uber delicious. Used frozen raspberries. Doubled recipe and it mske s smallish bundt. Vanilla glaze-delightful and gone in no time! So simple too-will make again and again. Thanks fir the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LVPERRY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
I made this cake last week,ik came out great,moist and delicious.It was light and great to eat w tea or coffee.i love it .thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbebe
Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Excellent. I made it this morning and love it. I didn't have almonds so I sprinkled pecans on the top. It would be awesome with the almonds also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Klein
Photo by Jimmy Nicely
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Terrific recipe. After reading the other comments, I adjusted it by doubling the ingredients, using raspberry yogurt instead of sour cream, and by using pecans instead of almonds. It turned out fantastic and it will definitely be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy Nicely

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I've made this at least 5 times now and it turns out perfect every time. I double the recipe and use 1/2 ww and 1/2 white flour. I sub baking stevia for the white sugar and chop up 1 cup of whole almonds for the topping. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Kimberley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
My mother-in-law loved this cake. Following others' advice, I doubled the recipe and used almond extract instead of vanilla. Would probably add milk to make the batter easier to spread as mentioned, too. This is a great coffeecake--thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakerwannabe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
This cake is awesome! I really love it. It's true that the batter is little compared to the size of the baking dish and the amount of raspberries, but if you work it out, the end product not only look good but also tastes good. I tend to like chewy cakes, but if you like your cakes to be on the fluffy side, you may want to add more baking powder. The only thing I would try differently next time is I would mix the brown sugar in the batter mix instead of soaking the raspberries in the brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States