Ras Malai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
This recipe is AWESOME. I have lived in Dubai for two years where there is plenty of authentic Indian food, so I can testify that this Ras Malai is indeed very authentic and of great flavour. I used part skim ricotta cheese but it has not affected the result. This dessert is truly outstanding. One tip is to take the cheese balls out when they are warm since mine broke a little bit after they are cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
This is a great alternative to the traditional way of making ras malai, I actually find this much yummier :) I use a 9x9 baking pan and cut the cheese into squares after baking and cooling. I find that this makes the cheese less likely to look brown-ish when in the syrup. For the syrup, I use 2 cans of evaporated milk and some whole milk. Just possible suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blacjaguar
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I absolutely love this dessert when I go out for Indian food and was so happy to find a recipe I could make at home. Unfortunately, I didn't have the saffron or cardamom on me, as it was a spontaneous decision to make it. The cardamom would have really made it better, but they were still delicious! I made mine with rose water (it says optional, but I say mandatory!) and with Stevia instead of sugar (1 tsp Stevia = 1 cup sugar). Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
great dish. i found the milk sauce to be a bit too sugary; 3/4 c sugar is more than enough to flavor the sauce. otherwise this recipe is perfect, and really does taste like authentic ras malai. thanks so much for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Everyone before me has basically said it all. I just want to thank you for such a simplistic but completely perfect recipe! This is way better than any traditional method seeing the result is authentic perfection, in the less the time AND work! Your awesome. Followed it to the T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I was so excited about making this due to the rave reviews. However, it was really disappointing. None of my guests liked it. I have to say that the sauce was delicious! And you could for sure get away with making half the sauce recipe unless you plan on drinking it. The cheese dumplings/cakes just weren't that good...kind of dry. Perhaps overcooked them. On goes my search for a good and easy dessert that incorporates rose water :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Made these for my Indian themed luncheon & got rave reviews!! Delicious & very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
This was just beautiful. The texture, aroma, taste and presentation were stunning. I added an organic rose petal to each serving. Probably a bit too elegant for my simple dinner of "Kofta Kebabs" and "Naan" but I really didn't care!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Love it! Ras Malai has always been one of my favorite desserts, and I was happy to find out that it's so easy to make! I followed the recipe exactly (except I left out the saffron) and it came out wonderfully. Definitely add the rosewater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEVEGGIEONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
This was a hit with my guests. Tastes authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sopapilla Cheesecake Dessert

A deliciously different cheesecake with a Mexican twist.

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States