Ranger Joe Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LISAKP71
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
So, usually if I drastically change a recipe I'll wait to review it until I can talk about it as written (or close to), but this is so ridiculously good, it's just not happening this time! As I was pulling the ingredients for this one, the Nutella was right next to the PB, practically staring me down. Once you spot the Nutella, how is regular PB going to satisfy? It's not! So (Nutella in hand), I realize that a little cocoa powder will probably keep the Nutella from getting lost in the other ingredients. Awesome, I had Hershey's Special Dark! I just subbed about 2 Tbsp cocoa powder for that amount of flour and subbed equal parts Nutella for PB. Dang! Using golf-ball sized scoops (flattened slightly works best), I pulled mine at 11 minutes; they were super tender and still moist inside, but with a little chewiness. I love the crunch from the rice crispies, and the slight crackling on the outside. I'm plotting additions of coconut, pecans, maybe even hazelnuts to hang out with the Nutella! Sorry that I don't know how they compare to the as-is version, but Chocolatey Joe is my new best friend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2004
I made these just exactly as described, but used Cocoa Krispies as I am in Europe and cannot get regular rice cereal. The result was yummy. My four-year-old son, office mates, family members all devoured them. Lovely mix of flavors and the crispy texture is a sure hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I just put these into the oven and everything looks great! I tasted some of the dough from the bowl and I love it! Thanks for sharing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
these are great. my kids gobbled them up. i added butterscotch chips, chocolate chips and raisins. next time i'll add a bit more rice crispies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
This was a great cookie. I made them 'as is' and they were really good. I added some chopped semi-sweet chocolate to half the batter for myself and it was great addition. This will definetly be a staple cookie for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
These cookies are delicious. Everybody, especially my husband, loves 'em.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2002
These are great cookies! I have made them two Christmases in a row and no one can get enough when they are around! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2001
I wasn't that impressed with the cookie. The texture is not what I had hoped for and the peanut butter taste overwhelms the rest of the ingredients. I will not be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
These are really great cookies! Not too peanut buttery, and they have a nice subtle crunch. The only thing I added was a cup of semi-sweet mini chocolate chips. Hello? Peanut butter, chocolate? They're fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
Yummo! I 4X the recipe, added a 12 ounce bag of semi-sweet chocolate morsels, and exchanged half the all-purpose flour for fresh ground whole wheat flour. Oh, and I made them huge since I was taking them to my son and his college roommates. (1/4 c. dough in each - only fit 6 per cook half sheet.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States