Ranger Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
This is a good and hearty, thick and chewy cookie, substantial and packed with flavor and texture. You sure get your serving of fiber with this one! The cereal/oat flavor is not bashful at all, making this a distinctly "cereal" flavored cookie. The dough seemed a tad dry and crumbly as I dropped these onto the cookie sheet (with a medium cookie scoop, then flattened them slightly) but they turned out just fine - thick but not poofy, and perfectly, uniformly shaped. Because I followed the recipe as written using shortening, I added a teaspoon of Lorann Butter Vanilla Emulsion in addition to the vanilla (found it at HomeGoods). I don't know what difference that made, if any, but they sure tasted great! I used quick-cooking oats and Special K cereal. "Almost" like eating your breakfast cereal with your hands! Yes, they might be just a teeny bit too sweet, but they're a cookie...and I can live with it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
These were great with my morning coffee! I did make some changes. I had no coconut so I subbed finely chopped hazelnuts, subbed corn flakes for the whole wheat flakes and added 1/2 cup of raisins. I was too lazy to make individual cookies so I baked them in an oiled 9x13 baking dish for 25 minutes until they were brown around the edges. If you cut them right after you take them out of the oven they will be softer and easier to cut - I waited too long. (Cutting them with a baking scraper/chopper makes it easier than with a knife.) Good cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
This recipe is just like the one that my Grandma and I used to make. I loved going over to her house and asking "Grandma? Do you have Wheaties so we can make Ranger Cookies?" I couldn't find the recipe in her estate, so I am glad to find it here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Sullivan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hood River, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Very easy to make. These cookies came out very moist and baked into perfectly round cookies. I made some changes only because of what I had on hand. I used only whole wheat flour and added a little more oatmeal because I was out of coconut and added raisin flake cereal with a fourth cup of golden raisins. Lastly I increased vanilla to a teaspoon and added cinnamon to taste. Delicious cookie, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beachbaby 72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2003
LOVE these cookies. I added another 1/4 cup of butter and used Post Maple Pecan Crunch cereal because I didn't have Wheaties. They spread out quite a bit (probably because I added extra butter), so leave extra space for spreading. Also, they didn't come off the sheet very easy. Next time I will either use a non stick cookie sheet or spray it with Pam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Absolutely one of the best cookie recipes from this website!They're sooo good and kind of healthy too ;) My only addition was half cup of golden raisins and two tablespoons of ground flax seeds, also I rerigerated the dough for about 20 min before baking oh and also I used butter instead of shortening. Thanks! Elvira S. Phoenix, Az.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lvmy2girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Wow, these are really great cookies. I just made a batch and not only are they deliciously crispy chewy (just like a cookie should be in my opinion), with the oats and whole grain cereal, they've got some healthy stuff going for them too. I substituted butter for shortening; I just like the taste better. And for the whole grain cereal I used Nature Path's Heritage Cereal. I'm definitely keeping this recipe and will make these again, but next time I'll double the recipe because using a medium sized cookie scoop only yielded 21 cookies. Well, 20 if you don't count the one I ate immediately after they came out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rbsoccermom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Great cookie. I double the recipe and used cornflakes. Added 1/2 cup each of coconut and slivered almonds plus 1 cup chocolate chips. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWKUMRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Aurora, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
These were very good and co-workers loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muggle516

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Beaver Dam, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Wow! Very good cookies practically ate the whole pan myself when they came out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by honeybee375

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: High Level, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States