Ranger Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I gave this a 4 due to the differences between this recipe and the one I have. I got this recipe from my grandmother. My recipe calls for just 2 cups of flour and corn flakes (instead of rice krispies). The corn flakes help to make this a chewy cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
I agree-----too much flour, great flavour though. After trying this recipe, definately will try again with 2C flour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTURKO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
Good cokies! i left out the cocunut in mine and still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
I followed the recomendatins and added an extra egg and milk. They were ok I suggest using butter flavored shorting and adding some rasins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
AWESOME!!! Added 1 tsp of Cayenne pepper. a chef in the the San Juan Island or Lummi at Willows inn did this and I tried to recreate it. Adds a bit of a hit of HOT. also only used 2 1/4 C of Flour. One batch added Choc Chips and another Raisins. Hubby and neighbors loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Orca's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Habra, California, USA
Living In: Idyllwild, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
My mom always made these cookies for us growing up and this recipe was just like I remembered them. I didn't have a problem with them being too dry when made as directed, however I left out the coconut but I don't think that would make too much of a difference. I like to add raisins or cocolate chips, nuts are good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
With a few recipe alterations, these will definately be five star cookies! I did reduce the flour to 2 cups, one white, one whole wheat flour. They were still a chore to stir after the addition of the oats. I also substituted butter (half salted, half unsalted) for the shortening to eliminate trans fats. For the first two dozen that I baked, I used my tablespoon sized scoop and baked them at 375 degrees for 12 minutes (as the recipe states) and that burned the **** out of them. I tried my 2T scoop for the next batch, same temp and time...better, but still overdone. Next I lowered the temperature to 350 degrees for 12 minutes. That was just about right. I will make these again and try reducing the brown sugar, oats and puffed rice by half. That should make stirring them easier and I think they'll be closer to the Kroger version that inspired me to seek out this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ekp333

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eastpointe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
This recipe has been a family favorite for years, they are the best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
These are simple and yummy cookies. I used 2 cups of flour like mentioned and they turned out wonderfully. Next time, I will add chocolate chips :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Irving, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
EXCELLENT! I couldn't stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States