Ranger Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I just tried these, and thankfully read the reviews, using only 2 cups flour. With the ingredient list all mixed up, I ended up forgetting to add the brown sugar. Still, the batter was so dry, I couldn't get it to stick enough to make a decent cookie (I pressed the dough into a tablespoon then flattened a bit with a glass). I may try them again, maybe adding an extra egg or some milk as another reviewer suggested, or even skip the rice cereal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Recipe is incorrect. It should be 2 cups of flour not 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I read the reviews on this before starting and went with two cups of flour - even reduced to that, I found the dough to be very stiff. I think next time I'll further reduce it to 1.5 cups. I added butterscotch chips and thought they were the bees knees. My mum thought they weren't sweet enough but scarfing kids say otherwise. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, North Carolina, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Yummm, just like I remember from when I was a kid. I used half butter half shortening, 1/2 c white sugar, 3/4 c brown sugar and two cups of flou like other reviewers also mentioned and they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummies

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
This is an awesome, if misleading recipe....I changed the serving size from 18 to 36 cookies. I ended up with 100, 3 inch cookies! In the adjusted recipe for three dozen cookies, it called for 6 cups of flour! I reduced it to 4, and it came out perfect with the oats, crispy rice, coconut...I did use 1 cup of coarsely chopped nuts to replace one cup of the crispy rice...and some chocolate chips. I also used butter instead of shortening. This is a great recipe...enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wenatchee, Washington, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
This recipe is wrong! I wasted a bunch of ingredients only to find that it was too DRY! It should only be one cup of flour. It was really hard to correct the problem once I saw it was too dry. Changing the flour to 2 cups may help but the cookies tasted awful. Sorry:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
My cookies look NOTHING like the pictures. The dough is DRY and the cookies did not melt down. It needs butter or something other than just shortening. I had these at a party and these cookies looked nothing like them. The jury is still out on taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
My Mom loved them! I thought they were ok. It was more of a taste preference for me. I love sugar cookies with icing! I used 1/2 cup less flour after reading the previous reviews & they turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Something missing from this recipe. Way too dry. I'd keep looking for a better version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Patterson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kanata, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States