Ranchers Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
I made this for my son's birthday party with the family. It was very good and there wasn't a drop left over! I used ground turkey because we don't normally eat ground beef. (No one even noticed!) I cooked as directed with everything else. The only other change I made was that I transferred everything into a baking dish and placed in the oven at 375 for about 30 min. to finish it off instead of the stove top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
My husband just made this for me. I tastes like someone cleaned out their cabinets and tossed a bunch of random ingredients into a pot and called it a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
My mother called this recipe "Hobo Casserole" she only used baked beans, ground beef, wor, ketchup, onions,and handful of minute rice. We always knew it was close to payday when we had this, because money was tight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
Really good recipe! When I make this again, I'll saute the onion and garlic in with the beef and sausage, then drain off the grease. It wasn't easy to cook the onion in a dry pan without grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
Mmmmm. This will warm you up on a chilly day. Great flavor. Used a spicy BBQ sauce for more heat, though it mellowed after sitting a day or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
This was even better than I thought it would be! I used ground turkey instead of beef. The sausage and baked beans added a sweetness to the meal that I really liked. My husband put cheese and tortilla chips on top to make nachos. I served it with Golden Sweet Cornbread found on allrecipes. Perfect Super Bowl meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
This wouldn't be one I'd serve to company (obviously) but overall this was cheap, quick and easy, and tasted good... three attributes that I generally look for in new recipes. I served this with Paula Deen's Corn Casserole. Everything was very filling, and in my estimation this dish would make for a kid friendly dinner. I did not use butter beans, I used great northern beans. I will keep this one in my file for those instances where I'm trying to stretch a dinner out with a not so elastic budget.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
my family was crazy over this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
My husband and family loved this dish. It is very hearty and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
I made a few substitutions but my husband really enjoyed the end result! To reduce the fat and sodium content, I made my own spicy pork sausage using a recipe submitted by Erika on AllRecipes.com and used Northern White Beans instead of butter beans (which my hub doesn't care for). The recipe was easy to "lighten up" by purchasing low-fat, low-sodium canned baked beans and low-sodium BBQ sauce. To further reduce the fat, I simply browned the meats, then drained, and rinsed with really hot tap water before turning back into the skillet. The best part was, my hub had two helpings and never noticed a thing missing! Thanks for a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Chef John's Pork and Beans and Greens

See how to make an Italian variation on beans and greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States