Ranch-Style Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I liked it. I hadn't thought to add dijon to mine. Thanks for the tip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff_the_Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Excellent dressing, but was too tart for me. Next time I'll reduce lemon juice, vinegar, Worcestershire sauce and mustard. Also added additional garlic and minced dill. GREAT on salads. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Tried it the first time and didn't like it at all.I tried it again and left out the red wine vinegar and the Worcestershire, substituted an equal amount of Riesling white wine and I think the results were super.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msouleusa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Living In: Parksville, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Good, but I'll keep searching for a lower calorie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
This is a good dressing. I use it more for a dip. Adjust the buttermilk accordingly for thickness. A little cayanne pepper gives it that little pick me up to make it even better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I agree with some of the other reviews in that there was a little too much worchestershire sauce, red wine vinegar and lemon juice. There was just too much going on and the flavors fought for control. I'd like to try this again with the lemon juice, red wine vinegar and worchestershire halved as well as the chives and shallot increased. I think then it might be close to where it needs to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
I agree with the other reviewers, this is way to acidic. The Worchestire sauce is also to dominant in this dressing. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurse kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA
Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Used this recipe as a veggie dip, so I left out the buttermilk to keep it thicker. Based on other reviews, I halved the amounts of lemon juice, red wine vinegar, & worcestershire sauce. To suit our tastes, I also added 1/4 tsp dried dill weed. The end result was a delicious ranch dip! Will be making homemade ranch dressing from now on. Thanks for the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
A little too acidic for my taste. Reminded me of exactly what I don't like about bottled ranch dressing. Maybe leave out the vinegar and/or lemon juice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rocklin, California, USA
Living In: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Great as a starting point, but in my opinion this needs some work. First, I used only half the vinegar called for yet Hubs and I both thought it was still too tangy. Also, this is a creamy white dressing, so I thought white wine vinegar was a better fit than the red, of course my preference would be to leave the vinegar out altogether - there's plenty of tang in the lemon juice. I tasted this after I mixed it up and the Worcestershire was very prominent. It settled down some as the flavors had a chance to marry, but I'd still either cut back on the Worcestershire or, again, leave it out altogether. I definitely liked the additions of the chives, shallots, Dijon and celery seed, but still felt it needed an extra herb...I added fresh dill. Finally, as a salad dressing (as opposed to a vegetable dip) it was a little thick, remedied easily enough with a little more buttermilk. Once I tinkered with it to suit our tastes, Hubs and I both loved this, which we enjoyed on a tossed green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States