Ranch Style Popcorn Seasoning Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
This is SO good! I added a lot more dill (I'm a dill junkie)and a little more onion powder but even as-is it's delicious. Also I was a little curious about the oil but it gives it the perfect texture to stick to your popcorn. I love this so much I make a huge batch and keep it on top of the microwave at all times. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coreo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Love this recipe!!!! Healthy too!!! Coconut oil is healthier so we used that instead of vegetable oil!!! Definitely using this recipe again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mtecgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Here is the ultimate combination: garlic powder, cayenne powder, season salt and sometimes premade ranch dressing mix. I always eyeball it so I don't have a ratio to share. I would approximate 1 part garlic, season salt, and ranch and 3/4 part cayenne. Play around with it for your specific tastes. Pop the popcorn, we use the spray butter but use whatever floats your boat, then add as much or as little of the seasoning you like. There are lots of season combos we've tried but this is my personal favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
didn't add the oil, just sprinkled it over lightly buttered popcorn. whatever you want to call it, i loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
LOVE this! I omit the oil, as I pop on the stove and just add a little extra while popping. I added a few dashes each of chives and thyme like a previous reviewer suggested. It's so good that I'm about to make a 25 serving batch and put it in an empty herb container to sprinkle on. I figure it will be much more convenient this way since this is now a staple for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeslieS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Sad to say, didn't like at all! It was very "herby" which is fine. It isn't like the Ranch packets it claims to imitate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whereiroamishome

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
i agree with the first reviewer with the taste is very "ranch like" to me anyway my bf said it tasted nothing liked ranch to him but he really liked the flavoring. He told me to make some more tomorrow night! I made a small amount of popcorn and i made the seasoning as is with the oil the spices clumped up and didn't stick to the popcorn that great. i made another batch of seasoning and left the oil out, and just sprayed the popcorn with butter spray and then tossed in the seasoning worked alot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakePolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA
Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
I used air-popped corn and tossed it in melted butter before adding the seasoning mix (omitted oil). Next time would leave out the pepper and maybe the salt - they overpower the other spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by knockoutchef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Very tasty combination of flavors, but definitely more "ranch-like" than a true ranch flavor. However it's delicious nonetheless and a great way to perk up your popcorn. I used olive oil vs. veg. oil and doubled the recipe. I would definitely make this again and maybe add some dried chives to the mix. Perfect for a low fat snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I quadrupled this recipe for a huge family bowl of popcorn and I used half EVOO/half melted butter instead of vegetable. I tossed the air-popped popcorn with the melted butter/EVOO, then sprinkled the seasoning over the top and tossed again. Not quite ranchy but tasty nonetheless. Next time, I'd add chives along with onion powder or Beau Monde. Great for Movie Night made a little healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Funky Popcorn

Light, airy buttered popcorn starring the aromatic flavors of the Middle East.

Fajita Seasoning

Turn simple spices into a flavorful fajita seasoning blend.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States