Ranch Dressing II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by maaiau
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
I have tried this recipe and loved it. I've also done a little tweeking to it and still loved the taste of it. I've switched the regular sour cream with the Mexican style darigold sour cream and with the spice and seasoning that sour cream has in it, makes the ranch so much flavorful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Delicious! I no longer by the bottled stuff. Thank you for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOBUNNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
This needs some tweaking to make it a dressing and not a dip. It also seemed to be lacking something. I added some freshly squeezed lemon juice which brightened it up a bit. I also increased the seasonings to give it less than a mayo taste. Even after adding the lemon juice it needed some milk to thin it out (buttermilk would have been good but the addition of the lemon juice helped since I didn't have buttermilk). Even with the additional milk it thickened upon chilling which was still way too thick to be considered a dressing IMO. It also seemed to have a "sticky" texture, coating every piece of salad goodness, and not in a good way. While I love homemade ranch this one didn't do it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
i like a creamy tangy ranch dressing and this needed alot done for my taste. I added worchestershire sauce about 1tbs, 1 tsp vinegar and bumped up.salt and buttermilk. I made both mayo and buttermilk from scratch which really gave the recipe a clean tast. I came to realize it gets better over time (the taste).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thecritic

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
LOVE this flavor. Just a hint of dill. Family loved it! Thinned it with a touch of half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianna
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
If you don't have mayo you can use milk instead it tastes just as good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
OMG I just mixed this up adding the buttermilk and using greek yogurt for the sour cream and fresh herbs. Licked the spoon and thought it was amazing! Can't wait to try it in a few hours after flavors have melded. Thanks for this recipe! I hated to buy bottle or dry ranch because of all the additives. Going to use this dressing in the Rosemary Ranch Chicken Kabobs recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveToEat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
this worked great, i did half cup ea of mayo and plain greek yogurt. I'm sure the taste is fairly similar, it just seemed like a healthier option. dressing tasted great, it was really thick so sometimes i added a little whole milk to thin it down before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DYANNAH
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
This recipe was so easy and quick! And so much better than the bottle stuff. I changed a few things it improvise with what I had available in my pantry and fridge and it was fabulous. Added fresh crushed garlic, fresh green onions, didn't measure anything but used less sour cream and mayo and made my own buttermilk with milk and vinegar and added it to thin it out. Added the other dried herbs salt and pepper to taste. Perfecto!!! Never buying that bottle stuff again. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DYANNAH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
One day, all my husband and I had available for lunch was stuff for a salad. I wanted to spruce it up a bit, so I decided to look for some homemade ranch dressing, as we almost always bought ranch from the store. I really can't say enough how happy I am that I did...I now won't even buy store-bought stuff anymore. I got so spoiled on this stuff! It's AMAZING just as it is...however, over time, I made just a small change to make it a little more liquid-y (since we always have it on our salads)--I use a 1/4 cup sour cream and a 1/4 cup buttermilk, instead of the 1/2 cup sour cream. This makes it a little more spreadable, but we also do like the thickness, so the sour cream works out great. Thanks so much to whoever submitted this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 967) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ranch Dressing II

This dressing is tangy with flavors of herbs. Mmm!

How to Make Homemade Ranch Dressing

See how to make America’s favorite creamy salad dressing.

RITZ Country Fried Ribs with Ranch Dressing

See how to make the famous fried ribs created by Dinosaur Bar-B-Que.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States