Ranch Dressing and Dip Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Good recipe, but READ THE FOOTNOTE before preparing. Made the mistake of putting it all in with 1 c. sour cream. Yikes - had to add a small amount of that mixture to more sour cream. Great taste, but a little confusing on the prep. ]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Get a clue, Hidden Valley, take the MSG out of your dip mix! Anyway, that's why I was looking for a recipe like this. After reading the reviews I added 1 tsp. dried dill weed, used celery salt instead of salt, lemon pepper in stead of pepper, & cut the paprika to 1 tsp. Then mixed 2 heaping Tbsp of this mix with 2 cups sour cream for a dip, and added 1/4 cup buttermilk. Tasted okay, the next day it was FABULOUS. But the buttermilk made it too runny for a dip. Next time I will add 1/4 c dry buttermilk to the mix. Note to self: LET SIT OVERNIGHT, or at least make it early in the morning so it can sit all day. Thx for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tecumseh, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Outstanding! We tried this as an alternative to store bought dry packages due to our son needing to avoid preservatives. This has quickly become a family favorite and a hit any time it is made for guests. Perfect as it is, don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Cut this down to 1 serving to go into "bangin steak rub" from this site which was an awesome rub for our steaks. Can't wait to make this soon as a dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I added a tsp dill, left out sugar. I used about a Tablespoon in 1/2 c buttermilk-1/2 mayo mixture; thinned with whipping cream. Had it on Chicken Bacon Ranch pizza on cauliflower crust tonight. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gadget_Queen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Neches, Texas, USA
Living In: Crawford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
As a dressing mix, this makes good dressing that is a little runny. As a seasoning for lots of other things, this is the best. I used it to cook everything from chicken to breadsticks to hashbrowns. They all turned out great. Has an excellent flavor. It smells really strongly of Dill, but don't worry the flavor of the dill is not that strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I'm occasionally finding a recipe that calls for dry ranch mix and I never have any on hand, like for the Vegetarian Chili recipe I made tonight. Found this recipe and it was perfect. Made up a batch and will keep in my pantry for next time I make the chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eldorado, Illinois, USA
Living In: Palatine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
READ THE FOOTNOTE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fuenteza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
skip the paprika..... mix dry ingredients, use some (but not all, like 1/3 or so) to mix into sourcream. save remaining spice mix for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Was ok, a little too much paprika~ Still searching for the best ranch mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristine Steen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hayward, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States