Ranch, Bacon, and Parmesan Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Easy and delicious! I did however use half the amount of pasta called for... As for the dressing I chose to use "No-Mayonnaise Ranch Dressing" from this site. I cut down on the red onion and instead of celery I used sweet peas. Using shredded Parmesan was a nice change from Cheddar and we loved the combination of "bacon and ranch"! Overall, very good after being chilled for a few hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Made this for Memorial Day picnic. I omitted the carrot and the parmesan cheese. Added a little bell pepper and a few sliced black olives. Substituted cheddar cheese for the parmesan. I was afraid the bacon would get soggy mixed in with the dressing, so I layered the cheese and the bacon on top of the pasta mixture just before serving for a nice presentation. I made this the night before and the pasta absorbed a lot of the dressing, so be liberal with it. I ended up using a full bottle. Everyone loved it. Not a smidgeon left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
I'm not a fan of pasta salads but thought the idea of using Ranch Dressing was intreguing. We really liked this!! I followed exactly and agree you may need to add more Ranch as mine absorbed much of the dressing. I will also double the bacon next time and liked the idea of others to add it before serving (although it was fine as is for us). Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
Agree that chilling overnight is better. Also leaving bacon out until ready to serve, hate soggy bacon. Didn't have any carrots but did have partial container of diced mixed bell peppers and part of seedless cucumber(diced) so threw them in too. Before serving I topped the bacon with avocado slices and some chopped hard cooked egg that needed using and finished with a mix of grated cheeses--what I had in the house. The carnivors had to have grilled sausages on the side but salad alone is a good meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
I make this all the time. I usually add frozen peas, black olives, smoked gouda cheese, an halved tiny grape tomatoes. Every time I make it it is gone very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Ashland, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I had to add a little more ranch. This was one of the best pasta salads I have ever had!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duncanville, Texas, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This is so good I keep sneaking bites before the barbecue starts. I used hidden valley buttermilk seasoning dressing, the spicy one, and followed everything else. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
I made this as is except the Parmesan was grated, and I used only a bit over half the onion. I like a lot of onion in pasta/potato salads but the whole thing just seemed a bit much. (Maybe mine was big.) I doubled the ranch dressing, and that was before it sat around soaking it up because it was already on the dry side. Looks like a lot of folks increased and even doubled the ranch. It's just dry as is. And I couldn't taste the Parmesan nor the bacon (even subtly). So all in all it was like having pasta with a few crunchy things and only a bit of flavor, sorry. (A shame since this is the kind of thing I would like. And I don't rate for doctoring up.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
This was great with rotini, bacon and peas. I used half dry ranch with sour cream and half reduced fat Hidden Valley Ranch. Even better then next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MImom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Linden, Michigan, USA
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Made for Recipe Group 6/13/2010. Simple, yet tasty. It was easy to put together. I used tricolor farfalle, and having no red onion and finding my vadalias rotten, ending up using some fresh chives and a little chopped vadalia I found in frig. I still like my pasta salads with a multitude of vegetables, but this was darn tasty! Thanks chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon Ranch Pasta Salad

Cheddar, bacon, and ranch dressing make a fast and flavorful pasta salad.

Antipasto Pasta Salad

This salad combines meat, cheese, veggies, and pasta into a picnic delight.

Easy Cold Pasta Salad

Watch how easy it is to make this pasta salad with fresh tomatoes and cucumbers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States