Ranch, Bacon, and Parmesan Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Made this for Memorial Day picnic. I omitted the carrot and the parmesan cheese. Added a little bell pepper and a few sliced black olives. Substituted cheddar cheese for the parmesan. I was afraid the bacon would get soggy mixed in with the dressing, so I layered the cheese and the bacon on top of the pasta mixture just before serving for a nice presentation. I made this the night before and the pasta absorbed a lot of the dressing, so be liberal with it. I ended up using a full bottle. Everyone loved it. Not a smidgeon left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
I make this all the time. I usually add frozen peas, black olives, smoked gouda cheese, an halved tiny grape tomatoes. Every time I make it it is gone very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Ashland, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
Agree that chilling overnight is better. Also leaving bacon out until ready to serve, hate soggy bacon. Didn't have any carrots but did have partial container of diced mixed bell peppers and part of seedless cucumber(diced) so threw them in too. Before serving I topped the bacon with avocado slices and some chopped hard cooked egg that needed using and finished with a mix of grated cheeses--what I had in the house. The carnivors had to have grilled sausages on the side but salad alone is a good meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I made this for the Recipe Group recipe. This was very easy and good. I did use rotini pasta instead of the bow tie since that is what I had on hand. Also added some diced tomato and olives, I like more veggies in my pasta salad. I had to add about an extra cup of dressing to the salad. I don't know if that was because of the pasta I used or what but I know I didn't add that much extra veggies. The kids of course loved it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
I made this as the Recipe Exchange Group Recipe for the week of June 7th. This was pretty good, though I confess I just eyeballed the Ranch instead of measuring it. I used whole wheat noodles, so the measurement was going to be off anyway (they're drier, even after fully cooked) so I figured I'd just wing it and keep adding til it looked right, and that worked fine. Thanks for the recipe, it'll be gobbled up and may make an appearance this 4th of July :) EDIT: 10/1/12: Needs more bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
I'm not a fan of pasta salads but thought the idea of using Ranch Dressing was intreguing. We really liked this!! I followed exactly and agree you may need to add more Ranch as mine absorbed much of the dressing. I will also double the bacon next time and liked the idea of others to add it before serving (although it was fine as is for us). Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Made this for recipe group and we enjoyed it. It definately needed more than 1 cup of ranch (I used 2). I ended up not having any carrots, but I did have 1/2 of a green pepper, so I used that and also added a can of sliced black olives. This was tasty and I would make it again, maybe even adding some other veggies as well! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Great pasta salad! I made this for the Recipe Group and was very impressed. I was a little worried about the combination of flavors and the vegetables...which were not your typical pasta salad veggies. However, I was pleasantly surprised...the veggies went really well with the bacon, ranch and parmesan. I only had a creamy parmesan ranch dressing, so I used that and it turned out REALLY well. I also put in more of each of the vegetables than the recipe called for. Other than that, I made this as written. My family really liked this...and I will make it again. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
We were pleasantly surprised w/the flavors in this! I used radiatore pasta & didn't measure the ranch. Very easy & tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Made for Recipe Group 6/13/2010. Simple, yet tasty. It was easy to put together. I used tricolor farfalle, and having no red onion and finding my vadalias rotten, ending up using some fresh chives and a little chopped vadalia I found in frig. I still like my pasta salads with a multitude of vegetables, but this was darn tasty! Thanks chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon Ranch Pasta Salad

Cheddar, bacon, and ranch dressing make a fast and flavorful pasta salad.

Antipasto Pasta Salad

This salad combines meat, cheese, veggies, and pasta into a picnic delight.

Easy Cold Pasta Salad

Watch how easy it is to make this pasta salad with fresh tomatoes and cucumbers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States