Ramen Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2001
I've been looking for an asian-type coleslaw, because my husband doesn't like mayonnaise...and boy, did this recipe please everyone! The first run was a little too sweet for us, so I now reduce the sugar to only 1 tablespoon. Also, for the oil, I use half sesame oil and half vegetable oil; this really picks up the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2001
I used only 1Tbs of oil and added more vinegar for a lighter dish. It was Great!! I know we'll eat this throughout the summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2001
I am a very picky eater myself and usually stick to bland, everyday foods. However this salad is delicious! It is a hit at BBQ's and other bring-a-dish-to-share parties. I love to add mandarine oranges (canned, drained) to this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2000
I've made this in years past, finally found the recipe again and can't wait to make it! This is the one potluck dish I brought to office functions and it was ALWAYS the most popular .. no one could believe a GUY made it! And by the way, DON'T use the seasoning packet that comes with the Ramen noodles .. even *I* knew that the first time I made it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2000
I, too, have been looking for this recipe for years! Absolutely yummy! Add a couple of teaspoons of sesame oil for more Asian flavor. The recipe fails to mention that the ramen noodles should be broken up into small pieces before mixing ingredients. Someone who has never prepared/eaten this slaw may not undererstand that step. Make this salad 3-4 hours ahead so the noodles have time to absorb some moisture and soften up. The addition of chicken or turkey would make this a whole meal salad. Delicioius! Picky kids and some men may find it "weird", but I could eat this once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2001
Terrific! A good switch from conventional slaw-loved the sesame seeds and almonds which gave great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYDARLING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2001
Fabulous!! I also add shredded carrots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2001
I made this last minute for a party substituting the pre-shredded packaged coleslaw. I also used "Oriental" flavored noodles. I didn't have any sesame seeds so I followed another reviewers suggestion and used half veggie oil and half sesame oil. Worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2001
Yummy. I made this with some ribs oooh yeah! I made the salad a day ahead and put the sesame seeds and almond on right as I was seving. Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel-Honey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2001
This was different, easy and very good! The only low mark I gave it was for kid- friendliness, and only because there's no way I could get my daughter to eat it. Oh well, more for me! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lianne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 430) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I

A creamy, sweet-tart salad that tastes like a popular chicken restaurant’s slaw.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States