Ramen Cabbage Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Very good and easy to make! I used 1/2 package of shredded cabbage and carrots, 2 packets of the chicken flavoring, some green onions, sesame seeds, and used only about 1/4 cup oil. I also did not have plain vinegar, so I used 1 tbsp. rice vinegar (ran out) and 2 tbsp. red wine vinegar. I also added a couple splashes of sesame oil. Topped the salad with marinated spicy szechuan chicken and broccoli. Husband does not usually like cold salads, but he liked this! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I made this for a friend that just had a baby and saved some for me. We all loved it! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
My mom used to make this when I was a kid, and I was happy to find the recipe. I used a bag of chopped cabbage, and the recipe yielded enough to fill a large bowl. As others suggested, I decreased the oil. I kept the dressing separate from the salad (so it wouldn't get soggy) and ate on it throughout the week. Quick, easy, and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
It needed some tweaking, but it was a good base (I already submitted to have a custom recipe made on it). I made it double, so I used a whole head of cabbage and two packages of ramen noodles. I recommend using the Oriental flavor because that matches right. I then, instead of sunflower seeds, used sesame seeds (eyeballed it), used sliced almonds, and also added four chopped green onions. For the dressing, as someone suggested, cut the oil in half, so I left it at a 1/2 cup, used about 5 Tbsp of sugar, and then used 4 tbsp of rice vinegar and 2 tbsp of apple cider vinegar, along with the seasoning packets from the soup package. It came out great and everyone loved it. The thing I didn't do, which I need to do and will do, is add salt and pepper (especially pepper) to taste. I needs that extra flavor and kick. That was added to my customized recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randy Finger

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I would like it with more ingredients. Living in O! NE cost = $1.81 ... Can't beat that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I really enjoyed this, but made some changes/additions because I thought the recipe as written might not have enough flavor. Instead of the sunflower seeds, I used mandarin orange. I used an equal ratio of oil, sugar, and cider vinegar plus I added about 1/2 tsp of the Oriental Seasoning from the ramen noodle packet. Next time I make this recipe, I'll add green onion. Oh..almost forgot to add that slightly toasting the crushed ramen noodles in butter was good, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
So good! I get a salad like this from a local deli and wanted to try and replicate it at home - this is perfect! Only changes were that I used half the amount of oil and split the vinegar with 1/2 white and 1/2 seasoned rice. Totally satisfied my craving - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Herkimer, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
I LOVE THIS RECIPE!!! JUST A NOTE/USE ORIENTAL RAMAN NOODLES FOR THE ORIENTAL SEASONING TO MIX W/BALSAMIC VINIGAR AND SUGAR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
I love this and I can get my teenage son to eat cabbage becase he likes it too. I use a package of slaw mix, rice wine vinegar and 2 teaspoons of sesame oil to give more asian flavor. Throw the seasoning out..too much sodium...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaMR12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Easy and Good! I added green onions, used both sunflower seeds and sliced almonds and put in cubed chicken. I prepared the dressing and salad separately and then combined just before serving so it wouldn't be too soggy...but I think the soggy leftovers taste pretty good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli and Ramen Noodle Salad

Crunchy, savory and sweet combination of broccoli, ramen noodles, seeds, and nuts

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States