Rajma (Kidney Bean Curry) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This turned out PERFECT! I made a few minor variations to the recipe. I used one large sweet onion and one small shallot, and grated them rather than chopped them. I didn't have red chili peppers at hand, so I used one fresh green chili pepper cut very fine instead. I also used one can (8 oz) of tomato sauce instead of fresh tomatoes. I added the garam masala in with the tomato sauce instead of at the end. My family doesn't like things too spicy, so I left out the ground red pepper. And my pressure cooker operates differently, so I had to adjust the cook time--it took about 10 minutes to reach full pressure, and 20 minutes cooking after that. This sounds like a lot of changes! but really, I had the recipe before me the entire time and just made small changes that I thought would work better for me. The rajma is DELICIOUS, and I can't wait to try out more of Susmita-di's recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly, cooking it in my new WMF Perfect Plus pressure cooker (which I highly recommend.). Rich, multi-layered flavors. Amazing! My only question is, what is ground red pepper? Cayenne?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This was a wonderful recipe. The aroma of blooming all the wonderful spices made my mouth water before even starting up the pressure. I had garlic naan bread instead of rice. Instead of the mortar, I used a small food processor and ran it until everything was smooth. Whole Foods has some terrific garam masala. I can hardly wait to try some of your other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
This is very good way to prepare kidney beans. I didn't have a pressure cooker, so I cooked it in a skillet. The dish is perfectly seasoned, spicy and very nutricious. Next time I will serve it with a light vegetable salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
So so so yummy! I don't have a pressure cooker so I started at step 4 using canned beans. Quick, easy and delicious weeknight meal! Didn't bother making a paste, just cut the onions, garlic, and ginger fine. Next time I will add more liquid, mine didn't have enough of a sauce. I'll also add more tomatoes next time, I only had one fresh tomato on hand so I used that plus 2 canned whole peeled plum tomatoes from the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westernville, New York, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Great, and easy, way to prepare kidney beans. While preparing I left out the chile peppers because I don't like spicy foods, and added a dash of lime at the end to perk up the flavors in the dish. The lime was a great addition. Also, I waited until the water was boiling before putting the lid on the pressure cooker, then cooked over med-low heat for 20 minutes. Turned off the heat and waited until the pressure stick on the lid went down (on its own) and served over jeera rice. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
This was an easy recipe and the results were amazing. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sshoupe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
This dish was wonderfully aromatic and flavorful, as well as filling. I served with Palak Paneer and brown basmati rice. One precaution: go easy on the ghee. I found it could easily overpower the dish and cause to be a bit too rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugaree1485

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Starkville, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
This is an awesome recipe. I tried it today and it came out very good. I cooked 1 cup of dried kidney beans, so I had to halve every measurement. I did have to 1 extra tomato, though. So, I had to use 2 tomatoes for 1 cup of dried kidney beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I didn't have all the spices listed, so I ad-libbed with what I had. Substituting ground spices for seeds and pods. Served it on top of brown rice. My husband & I thought this was out-of-this-world! Very satisfying! Next time, I will go buy the missing spices and make it according to this recipe. I can hardly wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandiNicol

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States