Rajma (Kidney Bean Curry) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
This is an awesome recipe. I tried it today and it came out very good. I cooked 1 cup of dried kidney beans, so I had to halve every measurement. I did have to 1 extra tomato, though. So, I had to use 2 tomatoes for 1 cup of dried kidney beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Tasted like plain old beans.... I won;t be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Excellent dish, I like heat so I added 6 dried red Chilies plus 2-3 fresh thai chilies. That perked it up a bit. My work mate from Hyderabad enjoyed it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
This dish was wonderfully aromatic and flavorful, as well as filling. I served with Palak Paneer and brown basmati rice. One precaution: go easy on the ghee. I found it could easily overpower the dish and cause to be a bit too rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugaree1485

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Starkville, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
This was an easy recipe and the results were amazing. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sshoupe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Great, and easy, way to prepare kidney beans. While preparing I left out the chile peppers because I don't like spicy foods, and added a dash of lime at the end to perk up the flavors in the dish. The lime was a great addition. Also, I waited until the water was boiling before putting the lid on the pressure cooker, then cooked over med-low heat for 20 minutes. Turned off the heat and waited until the pressure stick on the lid went down (on its own) and served over jeera rice. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I used a cup of rajma, and 4.5Xwater and then followed the recipie exactly. It was awesome. Oh and I finely chopped everything as it is faster to cook the base masala. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This turned out PERFECT! I made a few minor variations to the recipe. I used one large sweet onion and one small shallot, and grated them rather than chopped them. I didn't have red chili peppers at hand, so I used one fresh green chili pepper cut very fine instead. I also used one can (8 oz) of tomato sauce instead of fresh tomatoes. I added the garam masala in with the tomato sauce instead of at the end. My family doesn't like things too spicy, so I left out the ground red pepper. And my pressure cooker operates differently, so I had to adjust the cook time--it took about 10 minutes to reach full pressure, and 20 minutes cooking after that. This sounds like a lot of changes! but really, I had the recipe before me the entire time and just made small changes that I thought would work better for me. The rajma is DELICIOUS, and I can't wait to try out more of Susmita-di's recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
So so so yummy! I don't have a pressure cooker so I started at step 4 using canned beans. Quick, easy and delicious weeknight meal! Didn't bother making a paste, just cut the onions, garlic, and ginger fine. Next time I will add more liquid, mine didn't have enough of a sauce. I'll also add more tomatoes next time, I only had one fresh tomato on hand so I used that plus 2 canned whole peeled plum tomatoes from the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westernville, New York, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly, cooking it in my new WMF Perfect Plus pressure cooker (which I highly recommend.). Rich, multi-layered flavors. Amazing! My only question is, what is ground red pepper? Cayenne?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Shrimp Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy, Indian-inspired seafood curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States