Rajma (Kidney Bean Curry) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
Dish was OK. When the dish was finished cooking I found it lacking in flavour and texture so I added a cup of tomato sauce, another tsp of cumin, garam masala, and a pinch cinnamon. this made the recipe a 4 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
My other review accidentally posted before I was done. Using the techniques I learned jn my Indian cooking class and using the proper while spices, this dish was nothing short of fabulous. I added a few whole peppercorns, half a cinnamon stick, and used 1 can diced tomatoes and one can tomato sauce instead of the fresh tomatoes. I don't have a pressure cooker so I used 4 cans of kidney beans drained and rinsed. I also browned the finely diced onion with the whole spices instead of adding it to the ginger/garlic paste. I served over peas pulav made with basmati rice and naan. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Gwyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
great vegetarian dish, very easy to make. i added a whole sweet potato and extra spices. excellent for storing in portions to defrost for a quick wholesome dinner. only dislike is the cloves, but that is a personal taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
I loved the aromas. however, My family did not enjoy it. I think it asked for too much turmeric and maybe cloves, these are both in the garam masala anyway. My husband is Indian and he didn't think it had enough flavour. I do think its because the turmeric over powered everything. I will try it but use the garam masala only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Tasty and addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
My first time with this recipe. Admittedly I had to ad-lib with the spices as I didn't have everything on hand, but the fake-up was fragrant and tasty; the house still smelled wonderful next morning. The squash I threw in soaked up the flavour nicely--but the beans did not, though they were soft enough to eat. I also wondered at the quantity of water asked for, but used it anyhow for safety's sake (pressure cooking newbie). The result was a lot of spicy "soup", so I served the rajma in bowls over rice, which soaked up the yummy water very nicely. Maybe the extra-water and bland-bean issues would be resolved if I could cook at 15lb pressure instead of the maximum 13lb that my cooker allows, or if next time I just cook the recipe for a bit longer than stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by feralgreens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I don't have a pressure cooker, but I doubt that is why I didn't like the results. It was improved by adding quite a lot of oil/butter, but it really seemed to lack something that I could not identify. Adding butter made it good enough to pack in my lunch for a few days along with basmati rice. However, I won't make this recipe again. I will continue my search for a good recipe for Rajma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
As the author said, cheap and comforting. Had it with chappati. Nothing fancy but still a good vegetarian curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
my first time making this dish ...n followed it step by step... a good one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Smelled fabulous, but was a bit bland in the spice and heat category (so saith the men in the family). Had to switch to food processor when onion became overwhelming in my mortar and pestle. Used canned crushed tomatoes, added previously cooked/marinated chicken, and did this stove-top with dried beans that were cooked in the morning. Will use recipe again, but at least double the spices and peppers for my heat loving guys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States