Raita Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2004
Didn't read reviews before making this...looked so good, I wanted to get started! Agree with MEETA1 that the garlic should be omitted. It's flavor competed a bit with the spicy taste of my chicken curry. Also, won't use entire batch of dressing next time, was a bit much, but overall it's a great companion to a spicy dish!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2004
Served this with Chicken Tikka Masala from this site! My husband loved it. After reading advice of other reviewers, I eliminated sour cream, used all yogurt. Eliminated garlic too. Replaced that with some fresh chopped cilantro. It was light and refreshing with the spicy chicken. Great summer taste. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HATSOFF2U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2004
This was pretty decent. I didn't use the sour cream and instead used 1.5 cups of plain yogurt. I also only used a dash of garlic, and added a small, diced red onion--good thing to add! It came out quite good, but I still felt like it was missing an ingredient, compared to my local (and incredible) Indian restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2004
Really not good. It was edible, but it needs a lot of alterations. Sorry. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bhappe

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
Really an excellent recipe. Much better than the spice mixture I purchased at the local Indian import store. I think the key is a lot of cumin and cilantro. This recipe is an absolute must as an accompaniment to authentically spicy Indian dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
As an Indian, I've made raita several times. This recipe is a good start but lacks a few key steps. First, the yoghurt and sour cream on their own are too thick. Lighten it up with some water (either regular cold water or the water shed by the curds is fine) and then whisk it. I rarely add sour cream to raita because yogurt itself has a wonderful creamy, tangy and refreshing taste. Second, we never add garlic to raita. Raita is meant to accompany the strong flavors of Indian spices and the garlic/ginger/peppers used in the main dish. Garlic spoils the taste and will shorten the amount of time you can store the raita in the fridge. Lastly, I would add some fresh chopped cilantro. Gives it a wonderful freshness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
206 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
This was excellent. My husband told me that it was better than the one we get at a local Indian resturant (dont know if I agree with that). Next time I think I'll add some onion. We'll be having this often!! Thanks for the great recipe Katherine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2003
Perfect just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
My husband loved it. Said it was very tasty. I used lowfat sour cream and fatfree yogurt, which makes it lowfat and he still loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2003
Made it for an indian meal. Very refreshing and contrasts nicely with spicy meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Indian Relish

A wonderfully sweet and spicy relish for topping crackers.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States