Raita Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
this was very good.. i had to use all tomato because the last persian cucumber in my fridge had turned zombie.. i followed the advice of many reviewers and used all yogurt, left out the garlic, and chopped some cilantro into it.. bf says it's like tzatziki and salsa had a baby.. i have to agree :) ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This is amazing. I do not use the sour cream and only use two cucumbers at most (for our family of 3). I keep everything else the same including the garlic, which to me makes the dish. It is very important to chill it. This has become a staple not just for Indian meals but as a side for sandwiches, etc. My 9 year old son literally cheers when it is part of the menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariap430

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Loved this recipe...I added cilantro, but would have been good with mint too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Thought this was very tasty. Don't usually add tomato to my raita and liked the mix. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Great recipe -- loved the chunkiness of this raita. I opted for 2 cups of yogurt instead of the yogurt/sour cream mixture, omitted the garlic, and added cilantro. It turned out great! A nice side for any spicy dish. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vin-rouge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
The spice mix tastes good, but I'm used to less chunky raita. I used 1 cucumber and a small tomato. Greek yogurt works well. Also, I'd recommend shredding or grating the cucumber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Excellent recipe. I used with a complete Indian meal including Indian Rice (Pulao) and Grilled Chicken Thighs Tandoori also from AllRecipes.com. I omitted the Paprika. Our dinner guest emailed the next day asking for the Raita recipe; her husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
This was okay, but not great. First of all, it's totally unlike any raita I've ever had before, but that's not the reason for my 3 star rating. The flavor is just kind of strange. The paprika really threw me off and I didn't feel as though it belonged. Thanks anyway! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I think this recipe is a great start, but I did not use sour cream. I also used a 1/4 of the garlic to balance the cumin, but not to overpower the dip. When I served it I topped it with crushed pistachio nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Benet Garcia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
Although this tasted ok, it didn't taste much like the raita I've had at Indian restaurants. I left out the garlic and tomatoes, and shredded english cucumbers which are less watery. I also added cilantro. I think it needed a tad more salt and mint would have given it a more authentic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Lehman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Indian Relish

A wonderfully sweet and spicy relish for topping crackers.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States