Raisin Tea Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
"Can't talk. I'm raisin tea biscuits. Gotta concentrate so it doesn't turn into raisin hell!" These were definitely delicious, easy to make and no one raised hell about them so I guess that means they enjoyed them. Although it might have been because the egg I used had two yolks in it. Must've been twins. Twins make everything more delicious apparently. Anywho we tried these with jam, honey and cinnamon roll glaze and the winner, by far, was the cinnamon roll glaze! If you go that route be sure to use a thicker glaze so it doesn't soak into the biscuit as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by earthmama
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
So much better than store-bought! Pretty easy to make so it can be a spur of the minute preparation. Also, most of us have all the ingredients in the pantry. Try them, you'll like them! One thing though…they took quite a bit longer to bake than the time stated in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This is seriously the perfect tea biscuit! I am sitting down right now to a cup of tea and a biscuit fresh out of the oven. DELISH! I did run into one problem. I used lactose free milk and I don't know if that was the issue but I needed to add almost 3/4 cup more milk to the dough. I guess this changed the baking time because they needed an additional 9 minutes.They rose beautifully and I have 8 pretty large sized biscuits and 8 minis. I don't care for raisins so I used cranraisins. I will double the amount next time and maybe some time try chocolate chips. There will be a next time! Thanks Wfdm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
LACKED THE FAMILIAR BEAUTIFUL SCENT THAT WE ALWAYS NOTICE WHEN WE BUY THEM FROM TERMINI BROS BAKERY IN OUR AREA OF PHILADELPHIA. MY HUSBAND DIDN'T LIKE THEM SAID THEY WERE DRY, AND VOID OF FLAVOR. I WAS DISAPPOINTED, BUT WILL TRY AGAIN USING BUTTERMILK, VANILLA, AND A FEW OTHER FLAVORINGS. WILL ALSO LET THEM SET FOR A WHILE BECAUSE OF BAKING POWDER BEFORE BAKING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Fabulous! Best ever! Made it decadent by using heavy whipping cream and European butter. It was worth the calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
I'm very annoyed with this recipe. I used it to make biscuits for a high tea this afternoon and they turned out horrible. Your ingredient list calls for a cup of hot water but in the directions you don't say to use it. I assume the reason my biscuits are so doughy in the middle is because I didn't use the water. Please correct this so others don't make the same mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
No tea biscuit expert, but these were great! Dough was pretty sticky after adding the raisins but biscuits still turned out good. Did cook them longer - maybe 7 or 8 minutes more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
My husband has been a big fan of tea biscuits for years. I haven't been able to buy them since we moved 3 years ago. He found this recipe and asked me to try them. They were easy to make and so good. Definitely a hit! I followed others' recommendations and upped the raisins to 1 cup and the sugar to 1/4 cup. Also let the biscuits rest for 30 minutes before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
I doubled the sugar and used buttermilk. The biscuits came out buttery and delicious. The texture is on the heavy side though not as light as I hoped for but they are still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States