Raisin-Studded Apple Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Made this vegan by substituting margarine for butter, McCormick's all-vegetable "chicken" bouillon for the chicken stock, and Yves sweet Italian sausage for the sausage. Also used herbs de Provence because I didn't have just thyme. It made A LOT which is good because I love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Newton

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Stuffed a pork loin with this, omitting the sausage. Will make again as a side dish for Thanksgiving with the sausage. I used chicken stock instead of broth, but I always do that when a recipe calls for broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
The ONLY stuffing I make Christmas Eve for the past few years. It's GREAT with deep fried turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I would not change a thing. Love this recipe and have been using it year after year! Very easy to make but the prep work is very time consuming and you will have leftovers for a week. No lie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Sugarman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I love this recipe, I make it every year! Before I put in my two cents; for the record, I have made this recipe as written. However, I prefer to use it as a base. I always substitute raisins for cranberries, I've tried both and like the cranberries better. I also add half of the orange juice and the other half apple cider, and about a 1/4 cup of sugar and add a little salt to cut the sweetness (seems a little redundant after adding sugar but it's so good!). I use sausage with sage in it, and half of the broth with the other half orange juice and apple juice mixture...very very good this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derby, Vermont, USA
Living In: Herington, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I made this recipe last year and the family loved it. I did NOT change the recipe at all. I will be making it again this year and sharing it with the entire extended family for Thanksgiving. If you change the recipe... Please Don't rate it low because you don't like it then, it misleads the ratings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
follow these directions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Great option for a sweet/savory stuffing. Cut recipe in half as one 13" x 9" dish was plenty for serving 5 people and still having some leftovers. Compliments from everyone and easy to do. Prep'd many of the ingredients the night before (toast the pecans,chop the celery and onions, brown off the sausage) then another 20 minutes to put it all together for the oven on thanksgiving day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Good home style recipe. Changed raisins to cranraisins per the recommendation of another reviewer. Family thought stuffing was a bit plain for the effort and didn't taste enough sausage. Next time will double sausage and make with raisins. Then, I am sure it will be fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Everyone loved this stuffing for Thanksgiving dinner. I didn't change a thing. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States