Raisin Sour Cream Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by accidental cook
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
These were teriffic tasting. I tried very hard to make them a little healthier and lower calorie. I made the following substitutions with great success: 3/4 c. spleda for the 1 c. of white sugar, EggBeaters for the eggs, low fat sour cream, reduced from 16 tablespoons of butter to 14 and used half real butter & half light butter. Even then, when you cut them into 24 squares (which I think is a better serving size than 30 squares), they are still pretty high calorie. Next time I'll probably cut the crust/crumble mix down by a 1/4 and use less crumble on top. I did say next time, because these are so tasty I will have to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by accidental cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
As another reviewer said, its a little sweet; next time I will cut both sugars to 3/4 and the flour to 1 1/4. I did add extra cinnamon to the filling, it wasn't enough so next time I'll add some to the crust. Mine also took a lot longer than 20 min, more like 30+.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilgore, Texas, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
Wow! What more can I say? I loved this and my family raved about it. It's not too sweet and the 'crumble' was just right. I'm going to try this using a date filling in the next one. Refrigerate it before cutting and you will get nice clean squares. I have added this to my 'Mom's Recipe Book' and it will be passed on to my daughters and daughter in law's. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
Fabulous...stupendous! My family loved this dessert. I used dried cranberries instead of raisins because we don't like raisins, but this dish was to die for. Bravo to the chef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Farrell100
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Delish! And Easy! I found this recipe in an attempt to use up some sour cream and raisins I had on hand, and I'm not disappointed. As other reviewers suggested, I cut down to just 3/4 cup of sugar and 1 1/2 cup of flour to cut "too much" sweetness. I also added an extra sprinkle or 2 of cinnamon to both the filling and the crust. Will definitely make again! Bon Appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Farrell100

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
These were excellent! I thought the recipe was a bit unclear as to how long the raisin/egg mixture was supposed to cook, and didn't see how a mere 20 minutes would be long enough to cook the eggs, so I cooked it slowly over medium heat until it was thickened. I then had to carefully smooth it over the crumb crust (being careful not to dislodge the crumbs int he process). I baked it for the usual time. I'll definitely be making these again because my family was upset there weren't any leftovers from the church function I took them to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Everyone asks for the recipe--it's good for using up raisins that are "less than moist."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JG Bird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
As I am typing this, I just finished eating a bar of my 2nd batch. Yes, 2nd. I made my first batch yesterday and it was marvelous. Today, I made my 2nd batch using all healthy ingredients just to see if there is a difference. I used whole wheat flour, egg substitute, fat-free sour cream, light margerine and Splenda. And guess what?? It is still marvelous. Now I can enjoy these bars without all the guilt! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jurong West, West Region, Singapore
Living In: Yokosuka, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2005
I really liked these. They were great right out of the freezer. I would like to try with about 3/4 fo the amount of sugar though. I think these would also be wonderful with strawberries substituted for the raisins. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
I added cinnamon to the crust as well and about a half cup more raisins...only because my container was just about empty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States