Raisin Sour Cream Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by accidental cook
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
These were teriffic tasting. I tried very hard to make them a little healthier and lower calorie. I made the following substitutions with great success: 3/4 c. spleda for the 1 c. of white sugar, EggBeaters for the eggs, low fat sour cream, reduced from 16 tablespoons of butter to 14 and used half real butter & half light butter. Even then, when you cut them into 24 squares (which I think is a better serving size than 30 squares), they are still pretty high calorie. Next time I'll probably cut the crust/crumble mix down by a 1/4 and use less crumble on top. I did say next time, because these are so tasty I will have to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by accidental cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
As another reviewer said, its a little sweet; next time I will cut both sugars to 3/4 and the flour to 1 1/4. I did add extra cinnamon to the filling, it wasn't enough so next time I'll add some to the crust. Mine also took a lot longer than 20 min, more like 30+.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilgore, Texas, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
Wow! What more can I say? I loved this and my family raved about it. It's not too sweet and the 'crumble' was just right. I'm going to try this using a date filling in the next one. Refrigerate it before cutting and you will get nice clean squares. I have added this to my 'Mom's Recipe Book' and it will be passed on to my daughters and daughter in law's. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
Fabulous...stupendous! My family loved this dessert. I used dried cranberries instead of raisins because we don't like raisins, but this dish was to die for. Bravo to the chef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Farrell100
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Delish! And Easy! I found this recipe in an attempt to use up some sour cream and raisins I had on hand, and I'm not disappointed. As other reviewers suggested, I cut down to just 3/4 cup of sugar and 1 1/2 cup of flour to cut "too much" sweetness. I also added an extra sprinkle or 2 of cinnamon to both the filling and the crust. Will definitely make again! Bon Appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Farrell100

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
These were excellent! I thought the recipe was a bit unclear as to how long the raisin/egg mixture was supposed to cook, and didn't see how a mere 20 minutes would be long enough to cook the eggs, so I cooked it slowly over medium heat until it was thickened. I then had to carefully smooth it over the crumb crust (being careful not to dislodge the crumbs int he process). I baked it for the usual time. I'll definitely be making these again because my family was upset there weren't any leftovers from the church function I took them to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Everyone asks for the recipe--it's good for using up raisins that are "less than moist."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JG Bird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
As I am typing this, I just finished eating a bar of my 2nd batch. Yes, 2nd. I made my first batch yesterday and it was marvelous. Today, I made my 2nd batch using all healthy ingredients just to see if there is a difference. I used whole wheat flour, egg substitute, fat-free sour cream, light margerine and Splenda. And guess what?? It is still marvelous. Now I can enjoy these bars without all the guilt! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jurong West, West Region, Singapore
Living In: Yokosuka, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2005
I really liked these. They were great right out of the freezer. I would like to try with about 3/4 fo the amount of sugar though. I think these would also be wonderful with strawberries substituted for the raisins. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
I added cinnamon to the crust as well and about a half cup more raisins...only because my container was just about empty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States