Raisin Sour Cream Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I thought this was a great recipe, although a little too sweet for us. I halved the recipe (8x8 pan), using two eggs in the filling. Instead of softening the butter, I just put the flour, brown sugar & butter in a food processor, mixed until combined, then added the soda, salt & oats. Came out great. I would reduce the amount of sugar next time, as my family doesn't like overly sweet desserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This is a great alternative to oatmeal raisin cookies. Plus they stay moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I used 6 packa ges of single serve instant oatmeal with maple flavor and omitted the salt( after discovering that the oatmeal box was empty). I baked it for 30 minutes. Great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Just took these out of the oven 30 minutes ago and they are very moist and delicious! Better than I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Allen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
These were alright. I might make them again if I have an excess of raisins in my pantry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
This was a very easy recipe and tastes great too. My family enjoyed them tremendously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
These are so good. I gave one to my Dad to try and he REALLY liked them. This recipe is a keeper. The only change I had to make was the amount of time left in the oven. I had to cook for 45 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
These are a great idea. I think I should have doubled the filling though. Either that or put more crust on the bottom and a really thin layer on the top. I used whole wheat pastry flour instead, cut down the sugars to 3/4c and baked it for 30min like the other reviews suggested. I used golden raisins. It came out fine and I chilled it in the fridge for a few hours, which is a really good idea to make the filling firm up as others suggested. The bars weren't too sweet at all. I didn't have corn starch, so I just used more flour and it was fine. Cream cheese would be good with them and they'd be good with dates instead of raisins too. Overall pretty good. And they freeze great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
So sorry - I see the potential for this recipe, but as it stands I can't give it more than a '2'. If you enjoy grabbing a cup of sugar and pouring it into your mouth, then go for it ... seriously, I *like* sweet things, but there's a point where you have to stop and this goes beyond that limit. Again, great potential and could be fun to tweak, but nope ... not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
These were ok - nothing special. Hubby liked 'em. Good way to use up lots of raisins and sour cream. Good keepers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States