Raisin Sauce for Ham II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
It was delicious. But when I first made it, it turned to gel. I had to add another cup of water to thin it out. The cornstarch should be cut in half. When I made it a second time. I used only half the amount of cornstarch the recipe called for and it turned out perfect. Maybe the recipe has a type-o. Maybe she meant to type 2 teaspoons instead of tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Timonium, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2002
Yum! I halved the cornstarch and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
This is not a very good sauce, unfortunately. It's basically brown sugar and mustard. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
I really enjoyed this sauce I cooked it in the microwave and would definitely make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrencetown, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
I thought this recipe was awesome. I noticed some reviews thought the sauce was too thick, so I reduced the cornstarch to 1Tbls. I had never had raisin sauce before so I asked my brother-in-law how it was and he said "not thick enough". Must be a personal thing. I think I will make it again just as I did tonight
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
I made this twice and it is very good. The second time, I made it a day ahead to save time. Mistake! Once I re-heated the sauce, it was very, very thick and it took a lot of additional water to make it barely acceptable. Still very good, but this sauce should not be served that thick. But this was due to user error. In the future, I will have all of the ingredients ready to go and make it just before the ham is ready to come out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
Very very good! Instead of using water and the brown sugar, I used the juice from the slow cooker ham recipe on this site. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This is an excellent glaze. Everyone loved the ham. The only change I made was I omitted the raisens. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Quite good, I didn't have any lemon zest so I just left it out and the whole family enjoyed it. Definitely a change from the usual plain ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
This was tasty and easy to make. I didn't have any lemon juice or rind, so I used orange juice instead. I also skipped the mustard. I wanted it sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig Sauce

An impressive roasted leg of lamb served with a rich balsamic-fig sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States