Raisin Sauce for Ham II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
This is our family recipe, too. Only mom always added walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Very nice. Have used it many times and will continue to do so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Really great and on pork chops also!! Everyone loved it. The dry mustard is a must so that it wont be too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I used this for a banquet. I had to make it ahead, so the reviews of it being too gelled when made ahead were helpful. So, I cut the cornstarch by half. However, I thought it was too thin after reheating, so I added more corn starch/water slurry and it was great. So, I think you have to play with the thickness, but the taste is great. I was also serving a french toast bake on the banquet, and people commented that they liked the raisin sauce - vinegar and all - on the french toast too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I took the suggestion of several of the other reviewers and reduced the corn starch to one Tbs. I fresh grated the lemon zest and just grabbed a good pinch out of that which was probably a little more than 1/4 tsp. Other than that I measured the other ingredients as per the written recipe. Just out of personal preference, after the sauce had boiled for a couple minutes I removed it from the heat and use my immersion blender to pulverize the raisins down into a smoother sauce more to my liking. I boiled the sauce for a few more minutes and then it was ready to serve. The consistency of the sauce was perfect. Not too thick and not runny at all. I think the immersion blender may have brought out more of the raisin flavor into the sauce than I wanted, but otherwise I found this sauce to be excellent served with my baked ham. The next time I make it I will probably substitute out 1/4 cup of the raisins for 1/2 cup crushed pineapple or apple sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GhöstPepper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
ok for what it is...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This came out really good. It doesn't reheat well but it's tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I used this recipe and we all loved it. My hubby always wants raisin sauce when we have ham and I had never found a good recipe until now. I will definitely use it a gain. I did use a little more brown sugar and raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
My great grandma made thIS recipe every Christmas, and past it down each year. It brings back great memories of her cooking and sharing :) I cant wait to pass it to my kids one day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msdale09

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Loved this recipe! NOTE: Read reviews before cooking-- I had to store in a crock pot to prevent lumps because I made it too early. If I had known it would be so easy make, I'd have started it just before I put the rolls in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karen blackwell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig Sauce

An impressive roasted leg of lamb served with a rich balsamic-fig sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States