Raisin Rice Stuffed Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
This is an absoloutely excellent Persian recipe... just what I was looking for! It was a hit at Thanksgiving with everyone, Persian or not. My babajon (dad) was especially happy and proud to see me cook my first pot of good basmati rice! The rice turned a beautiful color from the tumeric and the raisins plump so nicely. We stuffed our turkey with it! Merci jonam, Nasi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2003
The stuffing gave a wonderfully light & delicate flavor to the chicken as it baked. Very easy to prepare, although you should use a medium or large skillet when preparing the onion/raisin mixture for the stuffing, it's all just too much for a small one. I will certainly make this again, maybe with cornish hens next time. Thanks Nazi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2004
It was my first try at roasting chicken in my new oven. Did not have ground tumeric at home, so I used freshly minced ginger. The chicken was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
I did not have the turmeric flavoring, but it was still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
Delicious. I made too much of the rice mixture so I just put the extra rice in the bottom of the pan, under the chicken. The rice absorbed the juices from the chicken and tasted excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
This dish was very yummy. The flavors mixed together very nicely to make it an enjoyable dish to eat. Like others, I substituted ginger for the tumeric and it tasted just as good. I didn't make it with the chicken, but I'm sure that would've made it even better. Some of the others that tasted it said a little bit more flavor would be better- maybe improvise a little and add some of your favorite spices that would go with the main taste. Very delicious overall!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
This was delicious. I also added lentils because I had an abundance of them. I also added more rice because the chicken was so juicy. I paired it with a wilted spinach salad with a balsamic dressing which came up on side dish suggestion list. Comforting, sweet and salty ... yet you don't really notice the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
I made one chicken for my wife and mother-in-law. I’m happy to say there were NO leftovers! They both seemed to really enjoy this dish, as did I. I think we’ll be eating it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darter02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
Nice, moist chicken. Mine took longer to cook than stated in the directions. Substituted dried cranberries for the raisins in the stuffing (knew the kids would turn their noses up at the raisins) and everyone like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
What a terrific recipe! Very easy to prepare and added an exotic touch to a simple night at home. My husband and I loved it! I would not recommend substituting the turmeric however -- Turmeric is a subtle but distinct flavour and it really went a long way in authenticating this dish. I seasoned the chicken with more than just pepper however. A bit of pepper, oregon, basil and especially paprika on and under the skin gave the chicken that tiny extra boost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kowloon City, Kowloon Peninsula, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States