Raisin Rice Stuffed Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This recipe was very good for my family and I thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Great basic recipe that you can build on or improvise with! I didn't have raisins, so I used chopped up dried apricots, which don't plump up but they do become soft and delicious! I also threw in some pine nuts with the onions and apricots, and since we like more fragrant and spicy foods I added lots of ground cumin and a bit of chilli powder as a rub for the chicken. Oh and I also used brown rice instead of white and i made quite a bit of the rice mixture and put it in the pan under and around the chicken...it went crispy on the edges and gave the dish more texture... So much more wholesome and yummy this dish turned out! Next time I'll try this with dried cranberries and pistachios!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Like others, not having Turmeric on hand, I modified the recipe. I only cooked one chicken. As well, the stuffing was the sauted onion and GOLDEN raisins with 1 tbsp of GINGER, 1 tsp of GARLIC POWDER and 1 tbsp of CURRY. I also placed the remaining rice mixture around the chicken as it cooked. As for cook time, I cooked it at 400*F for 13 minutes, then down to 350*F for 1hr 10min. Then I took it out and covered it in a foil tent for 15 minutes prior to carving and serving. Mouth watering moisture and the flavour was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mo Flavour
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
My roommate prepared this and I thought it was excellent. The only adjustments we made was to season the chicken well with dried seasonings such as rosemary, garlic powder, onion powder, dill (surprisingly great on it), and oregano. We knew this would change the authenticity of the recipe but I like my roasted chicken well seasoned. We followed the rice portion of the recipe as stated but used brown rice instead. The rice added wonderful flavor to the bird. I would highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This was my first time to roast whole chickens. I used the Citrus Brine also on allrecipes.com and I think the chicken and stuffing turned out great! My husband, who is hard to please, also liked the chicken and rice (he's not a raisin fan, so he didn't eat those). I also used ginger instead of tumeric as another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MessyMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kodak, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
We loved this. I made it on a cold fall day and the aroma and beautiful color made it a great addition to the table even before we started to eat. We really enjoyed the flavor and it was a nice deviation from the usual bread stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
i think this recipe was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
I've made this twice, & both times it was delicious. Since I only cooked one chicken, I placed the extra rice in a dish, covered w/ foil, & baked. Recommend it both ways, as stuffing or baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KCicerello

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Thanks so much for this recipe! I made a few changes to suit our taste and it was a big hit. I sauteed the onion with a finely grated carrot and about 1/2 c. of finely grated celery root (celery is not readily available here in Turkey.)Instead of 1 cup of raisins I used a handful (maybe 1/3 c.) of currants and added a pinch of cinnamon. I added uncooked rice and water, using less water than called for so that the rice would not be completely cooked and would absorb chicken drippings in the oven without becoming mushy. A few minutes before it was completely cooked, I removed it from heat and removed the lid so the rice could cool. When cooled, I stuffed the chicken. I followed the suggestion of one of the reviewers and put the chicken on a bed of rice but the rice burned and stuck to the bottom of the chicken so it was mostly inedible. The amounts were too generous for a 5 lb. chicken so after stuffing, I filled a small casserole dish with the remaining rice to eat with leftover chicken later in the week. The turmeric added a wonderfully rich color and exotic flavor which really went well with the plain roast chicken. I will definately be making this rice again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Adana, Adana, Turkey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
A very good recipe. Gave it only 4*s because I modified it a lot. Combined this recipe with the Spicy Rapid Roast Chicken (from this site). I rubbed that paste on the chiken and filled it with the rice stuffing from this recipe. I sauted two minced garlic before adding the onion to oil. I omitted raisins and instead used 2 stalks of celery finely chopped. I also used a cube of chicken stock powder. Used basmati rice. Soaked the chicken in brine for an hour and half in the 'fridge before rubbing the paste and stuffing. Baked for an hour and a half. It came out really moist and soft. The taste was amazing and the stuffing tasted great..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHANDYCOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kottayam, Kerala, India
Living In: Bangalore, Karnataka, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States