Raisin Rice Stuffed Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Thanks so much for this recipe! I made a few changes to suit our taste and it was a big hit. I sauteed the onion with a finely grated carrot and about 1/2 c. of finely grated celery root (celery is not readily available here in Turkey.)Instead of 1 cup of raisins I used a handful (maybe 1/3 c.) of currants and added a pinch of cinnamon. I added uncooked rice and water, using less water than called for so that the rice would not be completely cooked and would absorb chicken drippings in the oven without becoming mushy. A few minutes before it was completely cooked, I removed it from heat and removed the lid so the rice could cool. When cooled, I stuffed the chicken. I followed the suggestion of one of the reviewers and put the chicken on a bed of rice but the rice burned and stuck to the bottom of the chicken so it was mostly inedible. The amounts were too generous for a 5 lb. chicken so after stuffing, I filled a small casserole dish with the remaining rice to eat with leftover chicken later in the week. The turmeric added a wonderfully rich color and exotic flavor which really went well with the plain roast chicken. I will definately be making this rice again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi Potenski Akyuz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Adana, Adana, Turkey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
A very good recipe. Gave it only 4*s because I modified it a lot. Combined this recipe with the Spicy Rapid Roast Chicken (from this site). I rubbed that paste on the chiken and filled it with the rice stuffing from this recipe. I sauted two minced garlic before adding the onion to oil. I omitted raisins and instead used 2 stalks of celery finely chopped. I also used a cube of chicken stock powder. Used basmati rice. Soaked the chicken in brine for an hour and half in the 'fridge before rubbing the paste and stuffing. Baked for an hour and a half. It came out really moist and soft. The taste was amazing and the stuffing tasted great..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHANDYCOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kottayam, Kerala, India
Living In: Bangalore, Karnataka, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
It was a good meal for something different. Kick up the spices for more flavor. I added more tumeric and onion powder. We ate it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
This was great! Since we didn't have raisins, I subbed cherry flavored cranberries, and surprisingly- It was delicious! I was nervous about the cherry flavouring...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Clay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
This review is on the stuffing only, as I used the stuffing in a turkey for Christmas dinner. I think I am a bread stuffing kind of gal through and through. But my mother-in-law has celiac's and cannot eat bread stuffing, or turkey roasted with bread stuffing. My family doesn't go for raisins in stuffing, so I swapped that for two stalks of celery, chopped, and added a small can of mushroom stems and pieces just on a whim. I didn't have turmeric in the house. I used parsley instead. I made the stuffing last night, and put it in a ziploc bag in the refrigerator over night before stuffing into the turkey this morning. When I first tasted it this morning, I thought it tasted too oniony. I stuffed about half of what I made (tripled the stuffing recipe) into the turkey, which had butter, garlic powder, thyme, savory, parsley, rosemary, crushed bay leaves, and thyme rubbed into the inside cavity. The part that was stuffed was about 10 times better than the unstuffed portion that just got baked with a little turkey stock added for flavor. I served the portion that got stuffed, saving the unstuffed portion for if we needed more. What I served got mostly eaten, and was better covered in turkey gravy and eaten with cranberry sauce. But the rice just didn't quite do it for me. I think I may try a different rice stuffing in the future to see if I can find one I like better for the times when I do have to make it for my mother-in-law.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
Perhaps my mistake was to be the only person in the entire history of this website to follow the actual recipe as-provided. But I found this to be a rather bland meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Johnsbury, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
What a terrific recipe! Very easy to prepare and added an exotic touch to a simple night at home. My husband and I loved it! I would not recommend substituting the turmeric however -- Turmeric is a subtle but distinct flavour and it really went a long way in authenticating this dish. I seasoned the chicken with more than just pepper however. A bit of pepper, oregon, basil and especially paprika on and under the skin gave the chicken that tiny extra boost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kowloon City, Kowloon Peninsula, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
Nice, moist chicken. Mine took longer to cook than stated in the directions. Substituted dried cranberries for the raisins in the stuffing (knew the kids would turn their noses up at the raisins) and everyone like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
I made one chicken for my wife and mother-in-law. I’m happy to say there were NO leftovers! They both seemed to really enjoy this dish, as did I. I think we’ll be eating it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darter02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
This was delicious. I also added lentils because I had an abundance of them. I also added more rice because the chicken was so juicy. I paired it with a wilted spinach salad with a balsamic dressing which came up on side dish suggestion list. Comforting, sweet and salty ... yet you don't really notice the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States