Raisin Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Malatikrishna
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Very easy receipe....Thank u A few points though..to get the powdery texture I sprinkled sugar upon removing from oven also The baking timing is off...better to use the texture as a guide
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I've been searching for years for a similar recipe that my grandma made, these are pretty close. You must have pretty small walnuts out your way though, I used a cookie scoop and my batch yielded 40 cookies. I will be making these again, but will try rolling them in cinnamon sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I made these raisin puffs tonight for my mom who is highly allergic to milk. These are awesome !! mom was thrilled.. thank you !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dolores Matarazzo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pilot Mountain, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
This is a habit forming cookie. It is moist and easy to eat. You can't just eat one! My cookies didn't flatten out though they stayed in the ball shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Excellent cookies! I followed the directions but substituted 1/2 of the all purpose flour for whole wheat flour and added about another 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla to the dough. I also cooked them on parchment paper. My children inhaled them as fast as they could cool! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristiGreen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washougal, Washington, USA
Living In: Chambers, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
These were a huge hit! I followed the recipe, only instead of vanilla extract I used vanilla bean when boiling the raisins. I will be making these again soon! Really great cookie that isn't too sweet. Also I didn't grease the cookie sheet, this lead to less spreading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faithirene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I saw these today and decided to try them. For some reason, I was thinking they would be more like a biscuit, as they look, or like a mini cake as others were saying. So, I didn't think they would be too sweet. However, they are exactly like a "very sweet and thick sugar cookie" in taste and texture. Just not what I was expecting. They are just way too sweet for me. Using the calculate button and changing the servings to 18 will yield 13-14 good sized cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Q'scooking
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
My mother in law gave me this recipe years ago....the only changes are 2 cups of raisins, 1 cup of oil and only 3 cups of flour. It will take more sugar to coat them. I make these cookies every year for the holidays. Leave them on the cookie sheet for a couple minutes to cool..then remove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Q'scooking
Living In: Avonmore, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
READ ME >>> I'M HELPFUL. This recipe is fantastic, however, the "walnut sized" suggestion is not helpful as none of us know what that means specifically. To get this right first time make the dough balls just under 1/8th of a cup in size and keep them AT LEAST 2 inches apart in the oven, as these cookies like to spread out. Funny thing is, even if they spread out and blend into one another, they are still delicious once they've cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deedeeaz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I would say that these took more like 20 minutes to cook, but otherwise an excellent recipe. My batch made 46 puffs, and I needed a bit more than 3 T of sugar to coat them in, but maybe that's just my preference for coating! Looking forward to experimenting with other ingredients. Maybe almond or lemon extract rather than vanilla? Or even dried cranberries?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: St. Andrews, Fife, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States