Raisin Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
future husband loved it! i doubled filling ... beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I've made this twice for my father in law who LOVES raisin pie. I multiply everything by 1 1/2 and used half golden raisins and half sunmaid california raisins. Added a good 2 tsp of vanilla just before pouring into the pie crust. I cheat and use Tender Flake pie crust and slice one pie crust up and do a lattice top. Looks so good (well it is part of his birthday gift!) Tastes like a huge butter tart. YUM. Very easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Parry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freelton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This was my first attempt at pie making and I chose this recipe. I made three in a row with various pastry tweaks and pie pans for quality check! (Plain old aluminum pan worked the best.)Definitely double the base mix, this is necessary. I also reduced the sugar in the last pie and it met my likes very well, I don't like over sweet. I also reduced the raisins by 1/4 cup or more. I also added a cap full of vanilla to the raisin and water pot, I much preferred this taste. I would also recommend to brush an egg wash on the pie before cooking, it looks much better. Be sure to get into the fine little cracks for an even browning. Also put a cookie sheet under pie to catch any messy droppings! Thank you for posting this, as far as taste goes...you can't go wrong with this one. Go ahead and give it a try! Happy baking to you all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I've made this several times and my husband loves it. I usually double the sauce though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernadette

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Strathroy, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Very good recipe. I found the amount of filing was perfect, as raisin pies are supposed to be thin and dense, not thick like berry pies. I did have to tweek a little, I added another 2 tsp flour and a pinch of cinnamon, but I'm Italian, so our pinches are larger :), so about 1/8-1/4 tsp. As if that wasn't good enough, I brushed the top crust with cream (milk) and sprinked vanilla sugar over it, I think I'm ready for the big leagues!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chaplinj

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
I was searching for a pie that was like one my grandmother used to make for the holidays and this is the closest I have found. I used the tip from other reviewers and doubled the filling portion. I am going to make again and use less raisins, as I like more filling and this pie is all raisin! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Too many raisins. I also doubled the sugar/flour mixture or the pie would have been very thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
This pie is super easy to make and has now been added to my recipe library. My family loved it! In using a 9-inch pie pan, it did make a shallow pie, so next time I would double the raisins and the "sauce" mixture. I added vanilla to the mixture just before pouring into the pie pan for additional depth of flavor. I think that adding rum or butter extracts would also create wonderful taste variations. I sprinkled granulated sugar on top of the lattice crust for a crispy, sweet touch. This pie goes together fast, it uses inexpensive ingredients most of us already have in our pantries, and the results are delicious! This pie is perfect for experimentation like adding nuts, apples, pears, etc. I recommend it to anyone that loves fruit pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prospect, Oregon, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
The raisins were doubled and the pie was excellent. Easy to make and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
This pie was delicious. I increased the filling to 1 1/2. One recipe did not seem like enough for a 9 inch pie plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States