Raisin Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Just finished making these cookies,I should have paid more attention to the reviews. These cookies are cake like and I prefer a more traditional crunchy oatmeal cookie. I followed this recipe to the t. I had to use a fork to squish the cookies flat as they did not flatten out on their own. I used a brand new box of baking soda so not sure if it was old. I won't be making these cookies again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This recipe produces a dense cake result. I made a small batch of test cookies, the rest of the mix went in a cake pan. I altered the recipe by using apple bits instead of raisins. The taste is good, but the texture is not even close to what I would consider a good oatmeal cookie. The bars were topped with cream cheese frosting, and it went well. I made cookie sandwiches with the remaining frosting. They were edible, but certainly not the chew oatmeal cookie I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Not sure what I did wrong, I followed this to a T, they ended up being thick and dry and didn't spread out much at all. I added a splash more milk and not much better :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I just finished making them and they are so good, my kids love them. thank you..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I love oatmeal raisin cookies. I've been looking for a good recipe for a while. During a craving for cookies I decided to search for a recipe and found this one. These are absolutely the best cookies I've made. Just the right amount of ingredient to make a soft/moist cookie. I added a spoonful of peanut butter, date bits, dried cranberries and fig bits instead of raisins. Will save recipe and make these from now on. Thank you DL Sutton and allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Delicious! I added a splash more milk and i did add vanilla. These were easy and I am sure to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hampton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
not good. was not sweet enough. needs more brown sugar or something
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISRTR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I agree these turned out more "cakey" than "chewy" but I really liked them, I'm not fond of crunchy oatmeal cookies. I used margarine instead of shortening (had it on hand), subbed 1/2 cup brown sugar, added some nutmeg & ground cloves, and soaked the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
the only thing i would change is the shortening use 1/2 and 1/2 butter or margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I found these cookies to be quite bland... :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States