Raisin Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
I really liked it. I used dried cranberries instead of raisins. It cooked in only 50 minutes. It was moist and didn't need to be buttered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
can be a bit dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I made muffins out of this recipe. I used melted butter instead of margerine and buttermilk instead of regular milk. This was good but I think it could use some spices--cinnamon and a little nutmeg, too, maybe. Perhaps half white sugar, half brown sugar. I think that's what I was missing. The kids and I liked it but it wasn't our favorite quick bread recipe. I got 12 muffins out of this recipe. 350* for just about 20 minutes and they were ready to go. Next time, I'll add some spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Wonderful bread that's bursting with raisins! I used 1/2 cup of Land O Lakes light butter to ensure it would be moist. I also doubled the vanilla, added 1 tsp. of cinnamon and 2 Tbsp. of molasses. I topped it with some turbinado sugar before popping it into the oven. It smelled great while baking and tasted even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I substituted half of the milk for molasses - gave it a rich flavour as well as as taking the suggestion to add cinnamon. I will be putting this recipe in my favourites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrennaP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
This is a pretty good recipe. In the directions it mentions butter but in the ingredients this is nowhere to be found, so we can assume this means the margarine. Definitely double the amount of raisins and even add a few chopped dried apricots or walnuts. I would also advise adding cinnamon to make it more New Zealand, I'm from Christchurch and every time I have eaten this bread it has cinnamon to make it a browney color. It doesn't need an hour, I had mine in for around 45-50 minutes and it was almost a little burnt, definitely keep an eye on it with the bread thermometer or use the toothpick test. Most other loaves for this bread taste sweeter, so next time I would also add a little more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meganeloise

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Very simple to make and tastes good also. I used regular Thompsons raisins instead of the golden ones. I cut the dough and made mini sized loafs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Brydges, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Strathroy, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
Very good....I added some walnuts to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2001
Raisins tend to sink to the bottom of this loaf. But I did like the overall flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2000
Delicious and easy. I substituted dried cherries for the raisins. Might try adding some chopped nuts next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States