Raisin Honey Chews Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2000
My grandchildren love these cookies, delicious and good for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
i enjoyed these cookies a lot. soft & chewy on the inside and crispy on the outside with a nice buttery flavor. i didn't have oranges so i used 1/2 tsp. orange juice in place of the orange zest, and i didn't have raisins, but the cookies came out perfectly. i would love to make these again with raisins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
I Brought these to bible study and they disappeared. I substituted butter for shortening. Sugar was decreased to 1/2 cup but could have been cut down to 1/4 cup. I used 1/2 white flour and 1/2 whole wheat flour, and then for the 1/2 cup extra because of the butter, I added cornmeal. I also added chocolate chips. They had plenty of taste. This is a great cookie to experiment with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
Yummy. I took others' suggestions and cut the sugar to less than half a cup, and the cookies were still quite sweet - 1/4 cup of sugar would have been plenty. I used the zest of 1 whole orange, and the orange flavor really took over the cookie - you could barely taste the honey. So, next time I would not go quite so crazy with the orange zest. Overall, very tasty and easy. I brought some to work and they were gone in 60 seconds. Even our neighbor's picky 2.5-year-old loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2001
Very good cookie. One of the best oatmeal raisin cookies I have made. The whole family loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
This was a great recipe, especially the great honey flavor, and crunchy ouside and chewy inside. I used cinnamon in place of the orange zest and a fake egg replacement. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2005
very yummy cookie, I used whole wheat flour and removed 1/2 cup sugar and the cookie was still moist and yummy. The honey adds such a wonderful flavor. This cookie will appear in my cookie jar for the family OFTEN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
very good, small batch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dennis in Colorado

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I accidentally added more honey than called for; glad I lowered the sugar content a bit. Unlike others, I did notice the honey flavor and didn't notice the orange peel as much. Perhaps because I used more honey and used dried orange peel? At any rate, these are a nice little cookie that are very sweet. They flatten pretty well but with small cookies you can put several on a cookie sheet; just space them apart. They are chewy yet a bit crisp all at the same time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
These were okay, but I think they would be better with more of a honey taste to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylaMayaCamrynMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States