Raisin Honey Chews Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2000
My grandchildren love these cookies, delicious and good for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2001
Very good cookie. One of the best oatmeal raisin cookies I have made. The whole family loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
This was a great recipe, especially the great honey flavor, and crunchy ouside and chewy inside. I used cinnamon in place of the orange zest and a fake egg replacement. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
These were very pleasant flavoured cookies. It is a great way to use up the last little bit of honey. We will make these again. I altered the recipe a little by using butter instead of shortening and 1/2 cup of sugar. Next time I might add a tsp. of orange flavouring as well. Thanks for sharing your cookies with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2005
very yummy cookie, I used whole wheat flour and removed 1/2 cup sugar and the cookie was still moist and yummy. The honey adds such a wonderful flavor. This cookie will appear in my cookie jar for the family OFTEN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
Yummy and so easy! Will probably add some chopped nuts into the mix next time and omit the orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
Excellent texture, very moist and chewy. I love honey - however, I thought they were overly sweet without having much flavor. Maybe the addition of cinnamon would have helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
I Brought these to bible study and they disappeared. I substituted butter for shortening. Sugar was decreased to 1/2 cup but could have been cut down to 1/4 cup. I used 1/2 white flour and 1/2 whole wheat flour, and then for the 1/2 cup extra because of the butter, I added cornmeal. I also added chocolate chips. They had plenty of taste. This is a great cookie to experiment with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
Yummy. I took others' suggestions and cut the sugar to less than half a cup, and the cookies were still quite sweet - 1/4 cup of sugar would have been plenty. I used the zest of 1 whole orange, and the orange flavor really took over the cookie - you could barely taste the honey. So, next time I would not go quite so crazy with the orange zest. Overall, very tasty and easy. I brought some to work and they were gone in 60 seconds. Even our neighbor's picky 2.5-year-old loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
These were okay, but I think they would be better with more of a honey taste to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylaMayaCamrynMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States