Raisin-Filled Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Wanted this to be a bar cookie for ease of preparation. Rolled out in two long rectangles the full length of cookie sheet with wax paper under half for flipping over. Worked perfectly. Had a little dough left and no filling so made a few cookies with blueberry preserves! Could have made three strips and added a bit more raisins (maybe an extra cup) to filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Christmas 2011 made these as a gift. Very heavy little cookies (almost like a small raisin pie). Taste is great. I think I added too much flour though because the dough was difficult to roll out and get thin. Next time less flour and more filling and these will be sensational.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
So delicious! My husband can't stop eating these cookies and my three year old keeps asking for more! The only changes I made was to use half almond extract for the vanilla. For the filling, I used sucanat sugar and a little less than called for in the recipe. I also substituted orange juice for one of the 2 cups of water, and used 2 cups of raisins. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Just like my Nanny used to make! I'm making these again today for my dad's birthday. I gave him some for Christmas and he LOVED them - and he is VERY particular about his raisin-filled cookies! I was amazed that with this recipe I was able to pass his test! Has to be soft all the way to the edges - he doesn't like hard edges on these! The filling was yummy and so was the cookie! DELICIOUS! They don't last long in my house! My husband and son gobble these up like there's no tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miafaye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I had a difficult time with these cookies. They required **much** more flour to roll out (even after being chilled overnight in the fridge). Also, the filling tasted of pasty sugar..not good. The dough itself was good when baked alone as a cut out cookie (hence the three stars). I will not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I love raisin-filled cookies and these didn't disappoint, I will definitely make them again except the next time I will double the batch of filling. Needs more. I am the only one who eats the cookies so I froze them and took one out when I wanted a little treat. stuck it in the microwave and tasted just as fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I can't believe I found this recipe...My latemother-in-law used to make these every Christmas..but never had an exact amount of flour...they were my favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
After i made these the first time, i had to repeat the process 2 more times in as many months.. can't believe they were so popular.. absolutely yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I am very pleased with this recipe. It has all the great characteristics promised. I easily mixed the dough in my KitchenAid mixer and chilled it as directed. Keeping the dough cold as you roll out portions will make it handle better. I used mincemeat for the filling (I buy homemade green tomato mincemeat from a lady at a flea market. Ummmmmm) I also used a Press and Seal tool from Pampered Chef (really the bomb!). It seals the top and bottom cookie dough circles together perfectly. The cooked dough holds up well to the filling without getting leaky or mushy. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Loved these! I didn't have nutmeg so I used cinnamon. And I used DARK brown sugar, excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States