Raisin Farfel Kugel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
Thank you so much for this! I am doing my first Passover and just made this. I'm sorry I didn't double it. It's sooooooooooooooo good. I am running out now to get more raisins to make another batch! Happy Passover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
Absolutely fantastic!. My dh and dd loved it and asked for seconds. I will need to make a double batch next time. Husband usually complains when I put raisins into anything - but he loved this - and it was so simple to make. The only change I made was to use margarine instead of butter so I could serve with a meat meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
I JUST SERVED THIS FOR MY SEDAR DINNER. THE DISH WAS SCRAPED CLEAN. IT IS SO GOOD I PLAN TO MAKE IT ALL YEAR ROUND.EVERYONE REQUESTED THE RECIPE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
Really yummy. Wonderful for Passover and a great all-year-round breakfast food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Very tasty! I've never had anything quite like this before and decided to try the recipe despite the fact that I've never even been to a Seder. ;) My parents both thought it was great. Will be making it again! =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I brought this to a Shabbat dinner with me and everyone asked for seconds. When I admitted that the recipe was kosher for Passover, everyone wanted it. This is definitely a keeper - for Passover and year-round!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
AMAZING. I brought this to my parents' for Passover. There were 20 people and everyone loved it. It does have a lot of cholesterol, so I later experimented using only egg whites and smart balance spread... it still tastes great!! Thanks for the amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jkoltov

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
I made this for Passover for my husband's family - absolutely rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
This kugel was incredible!!!! Let me start off by saying, I doubled the recipe before I even tried it after reading the reviews. After having used my flat bakeware for other recipes, I had to bake it in a souffle baker - ok, so it would be a bit tall. When preparing the recipe, I beat the eggs in the mixer and made them super fluffy. After soaking the matzoh, and following the directions to the letter (except I added extra raisins...mmmm, and used marg. instead of butter to serve with meat) , I ended up putting what looked like soup into the oven (I was a bit concerned at this point). Let me tell you.... I had to bake this a bit longer than the recipe called for because of the height of my baker, but what came out of the oven was an incredible, delicious sweet, moist kugel like I have never had. I make this twice and brought it to two seders, and EVERYONE raved! We couldn't stop eating it! I will be using this recipe all year round!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
This was a great passover dessert... I actually made with Splenda (so everyone could eat it), so it would probably be sweeter if actual sugar was used... but it was pretty good! I will make again next year! Ooh, and it taste even better after a day in the fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennnnnn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Ever Classic Jewish Noodle Kugel

This sweet, creamy egg noodle casserole is traditional Jewish comfort food.

Kugel

See how to make rich, fluffy kugel for the holidays.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States