Raisin Farfel Kugel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
OMG....I just made this for Passover and I thought I would have some left for the second Seder. They absolutely loved it and there was not a bit left for the next night I would DEFINITELY make this again......but next year I will make even more. You've got to try this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
brought it last night for a seder dinner everyone loved it. I doubled the recipe before even trying it.I exchanged the white sugar for 3/4 cups brown sugar and added 1/3 cup honey. also added extra cinnamon. instead of the raisins I used cranraisins. definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I made a double recipe. I quartered the sugar (1/2 cup for a double recipe), and I didn't let the matzah soak as long. I didn't have margarine or butter, so I used Safflower oil. It came out great. It is super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Tons of raves only change was using Splenda instead of real sugar. I loved it too & I'm not really a fan of raisins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
I'm not Jewish, and haven't made/eaten enough kugels to compare to this one, but I have Jewish family members, and we all LOVE this dish. I can never find farfel at my grocery store, so I just use a rolling pin to crush up sheets of matzoh and that works perfectly. Tastes even better the second day, so make it ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Everyone LOVED this dish at Passover. It's a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
My family loves this recipe, even my husband who is not crazy about raisins. I added a bit more cinnamon though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
here's how to make it 5+ stars IMHO: 1. Use Whole Wheat farfel. 2. Use golden raisins at 1.5C. 3. Use sea salt. 4. Instead of 2C white sugar, use 1.5 C Lgt Brown plus 1/3 C honey. 4. Use Vietnamese/Saigon Cinnamon (well worth the extra cost in this blandish recipe). 5. butter needs to be unsalted and softened. 6. Add 3-4 peeled and slivered Granny Smith apples. 7. May take a bit longer to cook, so loosely foil to cover if getting too brown. 8. Let rest 30 minutes to solidify before cutting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I didn't add quite as much sugar and brown sugar is even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by matchstick atom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niagara-On-The-Lake, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I made this last night to have for Passover and followed the recipe exactly as stated. It looked so good right out of the oven that I had to give it a try. Wow-such a yummy and easy Passover treat. We will be having this for breakfast! This recipe is a keeper and I am going to experiment with it as well! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kugel

See how to make rich, fluffy kugel for the holidays.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States