Raisin Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Really liked this recipe. Used more raisins (a generous cup) as I love the taste. Added the raisins too soon the first time I tried it, but learned better this time. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I liked this recipe, but changed a few things in it. 1 cup water 2 tablespoons butter or margarine, softened 3 cups Gold Medal® Harvest King® Better for Bread™ bread flour 3 tablespoons sugar 1 1/2 teaspoons salt 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon 2 1/2 teaspoons bread machine yeast 3/4 cup raisins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjordanlmj

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pasadena, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
This will make a wonderful raisin bread as long as you add more raisins. I would also watch carefully and add more flour if needed, I did not do this and the texture of the bread suffered. I also added about 1/8 c sugar and replaced the lard it called for with canola oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
I didn't love this. The bread was hard the second day and then was worse the third. I need something to last a bit more. I did use butter instead of lard, maybe that was why? I like the idea of adding honey. It was good toasted with cream cheese though...sorry!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drodrigues101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
i really enjoyed the ease of this recipe, and the fact that it had no added sugar. i added about a third of a cup of honey to it, mixed it in the bread machine and then baked it in the oven because it's always so much better that way. (350 for 25-30 minutes) i also used becel instead of lard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lebrun family

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
Great recipe! I doubled the raisins like previous reviews suggested, and also added 3 teaspoons of brown sugar since I like a sweeter bread. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
This recipe was very easy and turned out the best of any bread machine recipe I have tried. I used 1 1/2 c bread flour and 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour. I used butter instead of lard. I also added 1 t. fructose, because I was worried that the yeast wouldn't work properly without sugar. The loaf came out light and airy. I love this recipe for a hearty, healthy and tasty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Was Ok. Needed to be a tiny bit sweeter. May add more cinnamon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Swigart Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
I did not care for this recipe, and I even added sugar! I dont know if I did it wrong, but its the worst raisin bread Ive ever tried. I dont mean to be rude, but this really was terrible. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zsazsa Gardea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
Great bread. I substituted some of the flour with whole wheat flour and it tasted great. If you like the raisins whole, add them in after the first kneading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

The Amazing Bread Machine

Use your bread machine to make delicious cinnamon rolls and more!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States