Raisin Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
I put in extra milk and the bread was still pretty crumbly. it had a nice taste and was definitely really hearty, good with butter on it. but I'd definitely suggest altering it with apple sauce like others did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I added 1/3 cup apple sauce. Moist and taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
Oh wow, this bread is awesome! I followed suit and added 1/3 a cup of applesauce and a full tablespoon of cinnamon. This bread came out moist and delicious - I've eaten three slices and it hasn't even cooled yet,lol Good and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frog_Prince

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
This is a super quick & easy recipe that smells great while cooking. It came out VERY dense and a little bit dry. Next time, I'll take the suggetion to add applesauce to the wet ingredients. I upped the cinnamon to 1-1/4 tsp, next time I'll try about 2 tsp, to try to get an actual cinnamon taste. This bread does toast well, though. I will make it again and hope for slightly different results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayHomeCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I followed the recipe, except for mixing some butter with margarine (I was simply running low on butter). I loved it! I love how it's dense... much different from the store bought raisin bread. I had to use my hands to mix the dough together. Quick and easy. Tastes the best simply toasted and buttered!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
this SMELLED WONDERFUL while cooking, but came out very hard and dry, without much cinamon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
It's good,family really liked it.We'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hatty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
This was pretty good. I made the first batch as stated and it was a bit bland but not bad. The second batch I made I added extra cinnamon, raisins and sugar. It was better but I like strong flavors. Still a great recipe and very versatile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearney, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
I followed the other's reviews and added 1/2 cup applesauce, used 2 - 1/2 cups flour and 2 tsp of cinnamon. I also reduced raisins to 3/4 cup and added 1/4 cup chopped walnuts. Plus I used 2 tsp of baking powder and it still rose to the point that it stuck to the top of the toaster oven. And burnt slightly. And made a mess for me to clean. Hm... a bit bland. I didn't like the texture much either. Maybe 1/2 cup applesauce was too much- perhaps I'll try 1/3 cup next time if I make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
I made this for my friend and she loved it.. and so did her son! I loved this recipe, but perhaps next time, I'll go lighter on the baking powder.. (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States