Raisin Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
For me, making this bread just as the recipe calls resulted in a dry, crumbly loaf, just as others have stated. I didn't read the reviews before making this. I must say that I was the only one in my house that was not satisfied with the results. My husband and children made sure it was gone by the end of the evening. Next time I'll try the 1/2 cup of applesauce and cut back on the baking time as suggested in other reviews. Over all I'd say it's worth recommending.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I changed the recipe just enough to make it more moist and to add more flavor. I added 1/2 apple sauce, 1 heaping tablespoon of brown sugar, 2 tsp cinnamon (instead of specified amount), half a cup of chopped walnuts and a splash or two of milk to make more moist. When it was done baking I made a glaze with two tablespoons of sugar, a tsp of cinnamon and 1/4 tsp of vanilla extract, add water until consistancy wanted is achieved (about 1 tablespoon, mix and microwave for 30 seconds, drizzle over top of bread and sprinkle on brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I've always liked raisin bread for breakfast but not enough to go and make it. The store brand raisin breads seem to be getting smaller and smaller in California so I began looking all over for a raisin bread that 1) doesn't use a bread machine and 2) doesn't need active yeast. I read the reviews and allowed 55 minutes baking time, but it still came out pretty dry. I would recommend doing 45-50 minutes for this one. I did everything the other reviewers said - adding the 1/2 cup applesauce to the wet ingredients in addition to the butter in the recipe. Wish I'd just gone with 50 minutes - will have to spread some butter on the individual slices when serving to make up for the dryness. Good recipe though - I might try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
i made this as stands but after doing everything i saw it was really dry so i made a few changes... I added one more egg, 1tsp of cinnamon because i wanted to taste it and a tap more of milk, and it came out great!!! it was soft in the middle and crisp, with a great texture !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Fantastic recipe, after reading reviews I added a pat more of butter and reduced cooking time to 45 minutes. I will be making this recipe many times over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kika_1996
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
this was really good... kinda crumbly but really good toasted :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kika_1996

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Followed the instructions exactly and the bread came out perfect. This was easy and quick and my boyfriend loved it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by araquiel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I made some adjustments (listed below), but did not like the taste at all. I added 1/3 cup applesauce, and increased the cinnamon to 1 tsp. It was done cooking in 55 minutes. I will take the time to use a recipe with yeast next time I want raisin bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
This did NOT come out dry! i substituted 1C whole wheat flour. also, i omitted the butter, cooked 3 apples down for sauce and inserted that instead. i increased the cinnamon to 2 tsp, but i think it could use a tablespoon. i used 2 small loaf pans (minis) instead. tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ming

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Weeki Wachee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2009
very easy and delicious! just the right amount of sugar and cinnamon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susieq624

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States