Raisin and Spice Brown Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I used ten minute brown rice, worked well! added turmeric, cayenne pepper and nutmeg along with the original recipe. delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
The best rice dish I've ever had ! Like another reviewer suggested I used walnuts instead of celery. I also used Grapeseed Oil instead of olive oil. I also left butter out. This will be in my starting rotation for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 46Gators

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
The spices and the flavors throughout the dish are so satisfying. This is a great dish for an everyday meal or an elegant dinner for two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I read a negative review (the only one I saw) of this recipe that began "I didn't follow the recipe exactly and then continued on to express disappointment. Gee, wonder why? I was looking for something to pair with grilled pork chops, and I didn't want to do apples, because they're just too obvious. This is the perfect blend of savory and sweet, and worked beautifully! I'd suggest something nutty -- maybe some pistachios or almonds... I actually topped it with sesame seeds, and that was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Deliciously sweet way to prepare rice. I served with the teriyaki rib eye recipe from this site and they complemented each other very well. I'm not a big fan of cumin, so I used curry instead. Perfect dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
SOOO GOOOOD!!! Everyone loved this one. I will save & make again. I added more ginger & garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
We enjoyed this brown rice recipe as our main dish. I would say it serves 4 if it is the main entree. I omitted the butter in cooking the rice as we are trying to eat healthy and plant based. I added more celery as other reviewers recommended. It was a tasty dish along with our favorite kale salad. Hint for fresh ginger. Mine usually goes bad before I get around to using it until I decided to freeze it. Peel the fresh ginger, and cut into chunks about 1-1/2 to 2 inches long and freeze in a plastic bag. When you need it, take it out frozen and use your microplaner to shred it....so easy. Make a larger pile than you might think, as it melts down as it thaws. This way I always have ginger on hand and ready to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Ludlow, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
This was a hit! Good flavor and texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
The flavours in the rice pilaf is great! definitely something I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I love this. I use chicken broth instead of boullon and add leftover meat after the rice has cooked to make it a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States