Rainbow Veggie Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Melissajean
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
Very delicious! I added ground turkey and used 2 zucchini and 2 yellow squash. I added 1 teaspoon of cumin and a little extra chili powder because of my additions. I also used frozen corn instead of the canned. I only used a couple spoonfuls of tomato paste. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissajean
Home Town: Alpine, California, USA
Living In: La Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
This recipe was even better than we'd hoped. I omitted the yellow squash (didn't have any) and added a yellow pepper (along with the green pepper.) I also added a can of diced tomatoes because that's what I had in the pantry. Since we aren't vegetarians, we added grated chedder cheese to the top. I also added LA Gold Hot sauce. But again, that was post-cooking. Serve this with some good corn bread and you'll score a home run! You won't be disappointed with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
Very wonderful! first off i have never made a chili before, (and i don't like beans). I bought a cornbread mix a couple of weeks ago and realized i needed to do something with it and thought well chili would work, and thus i stumbled onto this. I doubled most all the veggies since i am a veggie. it made enough left-overs for my boyfriend and I to enjoy for three days! (he even had chili dogs, since he is a meat eatter.) I used chedder cheese, chopped green onions, and even sour cream as toppings! this is a regular for me now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This recipe is VERY GOOD the way it is! Especially if you are looking for a more Vegan diet, this will be on top of your list to prepare from here on out. To add any kind of meat to it would ruin it and take away the taste it was meant to have. Fix it for what it is.. a VEGGIE Chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
Great vegetarian dish. It wasn't as difficult to make as I had anticipated. I don't like yellow squash and omitted that and substituted a yellow pepper for the green pepper and also left out the jalapeno. Make sure you stir it occasionally as it's cooking, or else you'll end up scraping a lot of burnt chili from the bottom of the pot. Very filling; will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
I loved this recipe I did it in the slow-cooker and it came out great...My husband even loved it and he's not the one to like veggies at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morgan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
Nice vegetarian recipe! I used a can of diced tomatoes instead of the crushed tomatoes and tomato paste. Use any variety of vegetables you have on hand. Everybody agreed that they didn't miss the meat! Thanks, Jen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
This was AWESOME!!! I added ground turkey and used an "Italian herb" flavored tomato paste. Thats it! The only hard part is the chopping (I cut myself :( ) After your done, just throw it in the pot and wait! I set my timer in 15 min. increments to stir. Really, this could not have come out any better. Just a dollop of Daisy is all you will need!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This is a pretty good chili recipe. Tasty, vegetarian friendly, and full of vegetables! My only complaint is that it was a little spaghetti-sauce-tasting. Next time I make it, I'm going to add one of those "chili spice" packages and I think that will make it perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay Newton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I agree with the others. This can be really spicy especially if you slow cook it in a crock pot. If you cut down on the spices, it is fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States