Rainbow Veggie Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Melissajean
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
Very delicious! I added ground turkey and used 2 zucchini and 2 yellow squash. I added 1 teaspoon of cumin and a little extra chili powder because of my additions. I also used frozen corn instead of the canned. I only used a couple spoonfuls of tomato paste. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissajean
Home Town: Alpine, California, USA
Living In: La Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
Nice vegetarian recipe! I used a can of diced tomatoes instead of the crushed tomatoes and tomato paste. Use any variety of vegetables you have on hand. Everybody agreed that they didn't miss the meat! Thanks, Jen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
This recipe was even better than we'd hoped. I omitted the yellow squash (didn't have any) and added a yellow pepper (along with the green pepper.) I also added a can of diced tomatoes because that's what I had in the pantry. Since we aren't vegetarians, we added grated chedder cheese to the top. I also added LA Gold Hot sauce. But again, that was post-cooking. Serve this with some good corn bread and you'll score a home run! You won't be disappointed with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
Great vegetarian dish. It wasn't as difficult to make as I had anticipated. I don't like yellow squash and omitted that and substituted a yellow pepper for the green pepper and also left out the jalapeno. Make sure you stir it occasionally as it's cooking, or else you'll end up scraping a lot of burnt chili from the bottom of the pot. Very filling; will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
I'm sorry, but we did not like this recipe. Too much tomato, and didn't think the flavor was particularly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
delicious! i added a pound of ground beef to thicken it up, but it worked perfectly!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
the chili was good but not very spicy... i added extra chili powder and 1/2 cup medium salsa as well as some sliced mushrooms and carrots. it was great with cheese on top and cornbread on the side. next time i'll use hot salsa and more spices. also instead of boiling and simmering one hour i cooked it on low heat for about 5 hours and the flavors really popped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kewaskum, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
This was AWESOME!!! I added ground turkey and used an "Italian herb" flavored tomato paste. Thats it! The only hard part is the chopping (I cut myself :( ) After your done, just throw it in the pot and wait! I set my timer in 15 min. increments to stir. Really, this could not have come out any better. Just a dollop of Daisy is all you will need!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
Very beautiful chili. I added a lot more chili pepper and spices to kick up the flavors a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelique Starr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
Very wonderful! first off i have never made a chili before, (and i don't like beans). I bought a cornbread mix a couple of weeks ago and realized i needed to do something with it and thought well chili would work, and thus i stumbled onto this. I doubled most all the veggies since i am a veggie. it made enough left-overs for my boyfriend and I to enjoy for three days! (he even had chili dogs, since he is a meat eatter.) I used chedder cheese, chopped green onions, and even sour cream as toppings! this is a regular for me now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chili

See how to mix up a big ol’ pot of chili—in just 99 seconds!

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Alligator Chili

What's cooking in Mendham, N.J.? Doug's chili, with a little bite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States