Rainbow Veggie Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
This is delicious! I am on a plant based diet so I am always on the lookout for alternatives to meat dishes and this one is a good one. I followed the recipe with one suggested addition, cumin. I recommend this to anyone as my whole meat loving picky family liked it. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This was not good per the recipe. It tasted like spicey tomatoes. So, to save what I had, I added 1 can of beef broth and 1 pound of ground beef browned and drained and 1/4 cup of brown sugar. Making soup with it now to save my ingredients. I will not make this again. Thought it would be good to use my fresh veggies from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Awesome! I actually won a chili cook-off at a co-worker's house with this recipe (with a few modifications). I did not use the chili beans and added a second can of black bean instead I added extra chili pepper to make up for the lost spicy sauce. I also used an poblano pepper in place of the green pepper, which added a little kick. I used Mexican oregano to give it less of an Italian flavor. I put it in the fridge over night to let the flavor set in and then reheated it the next day over the stove and added quite a bit more of the cayenne pepper and some crushed red pepper to give it more flavor. It was perfect in the end!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
This is the best chilli, even the non veggies think so!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This chili is fantastic and I love how beautiful it looks in the bowl! My husband and I are meat eaters so I added 1 pound of extra lean ground beef and 2 cups of water. I don't know if we really needed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Very good! I didn't have chili beans so I used red kidney beans and added some spices instead. I also added celery, cumin, a can of garbanzo beans, and some cheddar cheese on top. I had to add a little water to this because of the extra veggies because it was too thick for me. Makes a very big batch! Can't wait to eat it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
made as written...delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ari

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Yum! What a great base recipe. I totally cheated and just threw this all in a crockpot and cooked on Hi for 4 hours. I didn't quite have everything listed, so I used Rotel instead of crushed tomatoes + 1 fresh tomato, 1 can Pinto beans + hot sauce + 1 8 oz. can tomato sauce, and a bit of cumin. Add some cheddar on top & voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jerusalem, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Pocola, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I added a pound of ground beef, but it would have been great without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Great recipe. Could use a bit of tangy taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States